Training format decision

Cybersecurity bootcamp, or self-study?

The current first-party examples below put multi-week cybersecurity career programs at $8,900 to $12,000 per program. Short certification-prep courses are a different purchase and appear separately below. These are dated offer observations rather than an average or a quote. Start with a short self-study trial. Pay for instruction only when its schedule, lab, feedback, or deadline support solves a constraint you can name.

Build the complete cost

Cybersecurity bootcamp cost

Budget for more than the headline price

A fair comparison starts with the same cost boundary for every option. Add tuition, required exam vouchers, separate labs or subscriptions, paid study or class time, travel and taxes, and a realistic retake allowance. Subtract only funding or credits that you have confirmed can be used for this exact purchase.

The four rows below represent two providers. Fullstack Academy appears twice because its published upfront and installment totals differ. Do not count payment choices as separate programs or assume a temporary discount will still exist when you apply.

Published multi-week cybersecurity program prices
Provider and optionPublished totalWhat the page establishesChecked
QuickStart: Online Cybersecurity Bootcamp — part time$8,900 / program18 weeks; 20–25 hours weekly; live sessions twice weekly plus asynchronous work. The page's part-time copy describes Security+ preparation as an add-on while other purchase copy describes an included voucher; exact entitlement and the next dated cohort require confirmation.2026-09-08
Fullstack Academy: Cybersecurity Bootcamp — upfront promotional price$8,995 / programPublished list tuition is $11,995; $8,995 upfront price is shown with a $3,000 institutional discount and September 11, 2026 application deadline. Part-time starts September 21, 2026; full-time starts January 11, 2027. Security+ voucher language is conditional on eligibility. Confirm the discount, cohort and voucher before purchase.2026-09-08
Fullstack Academy: Cybersecurity Bootcamp — installment promotional total$9,995 / programPublished list tuition is $11,995; installment total is shown as $9,995 with a refundable $500 deposit applied to tuition and a $2,000 institutional discount. Security+ voucher language is conditional on eligibility. Confirm discount deadline, refund terms, cohort and voucher before purchase.2026-09-08
QuickStart: Online Cybersecurity Bootcamp — full time$12,000 / program10 weeks; 35–40 class hours plus about 10 independent hours weekly. The page describes Security+ preparation and voucher value, but exact completion conditions and the next dated cohort require confirmation.2026-09-08

Tuition-only reference

Flatiron School’s tuition page lists $14,900 for Cybersecurity Certificate — part time. That source does not establish the duration, delivery format, workload, certification preparation, or voucher. This amount is excluded from the multi-week program range above until those details can be verified. Checked 2026-09-08.

Choose the purchase before the provider

  • Self-paying career changer: compare the multi-week program total, time away from paid work, financing cost, refund terms, projects, and the evidence behind any outcome claim. A completion certificate is not an industry certification.
  • Employee seeking approval: name the work task and the support you need. If the gap is one product or certification, a shorter course may be easier to approve and more focused than a career program.
  • Manager arranging team training: do not multiply these program prices into a team budget. Compare public seats with a private group quote after checking learner readiness, staff coverage, labs, and customization.

The separate certification-course table includes one offer explicitly named a boot camp at $2,999. Other short instructor-led security courses below range from $1,949 to $8,780. Course names are not standardized, so compare delivery and inclusions rather than assuming every provider uses “bootcamp” to mean the same product.

Planning formula

Total purchase cost = tuition + required exam + separate labs or subscriptions + learner time + travel and taxes + expected retakes − confirmed funding.

For a team, first confirm in writing whether a published figure covers one learner, one course enrollment, or a private group. Do not multiply a “per course” observation by headcount until the seller has confirmed the unit.

Employer and team check

A multi-week career program may fit an employee changing roles. When the need is a defined capability for current staff, compare a shorter certification course, a private team class, or a vendor learning plan before funding the larger program. Ask the employee to name the work task, available study time, expected practice, and how the skill will be used after training.

The short version

What you are actually buying

Paid security instruction can add three things. Decide which one solves your constraint:

  • A schedule. Fixed dates set by someone else. A schedule and a financial commitment can create accountability — but only if accountability is what has actually been stopping you, rather than time, access, or the material itself.
  • A lab. Pre-built environments you do not have to assemble. If you already run a homelab, or your day job gives you the systems, you are buying something you have.
  • Someone to ask. An instructor who can unstick you in minutes rather than an evening. This can be valuable if you are learning alone and outside your existing domain.

When you see a first-attempt, pass, or retake claim, read the actual terms: the remedy may be another attempt, extended access, or coaching rather than money back, and eligibility usually has conditions. The evidence boundary is stated in the FAQ below.

The floor

What the exam alone costs

Every route ends at an exam, and unless a course bundles the voucher or an employer buys it, you pay this. For a reader who can work from free material and already has the equipment to practise on, it may be the only cash you have to spend.

CertificationExamFeeSource · checked
CompTIA Security+SY0-701$439Official page · 2026-06-13
CompTIA CySA+CS0-004$439Official page · 2026-07-14
ISC2 CISSPCISSP$749Official page · 2026-07-05

Vendors publish their exam objectives free, and some publish additional official study resources at no cost. Start with the official source linked from the credential decision; a bounded trial is the quickest way to learn whether paid structure solves a real problem.

The middle

Self-paced and on-demand price context

This table includes security-specific on-demand courses and broad subscription-platform observations from the training-price file. It is price context, not a quality ranking or availability claim. Verify the exact credential, exam version, access period, labs, and course terms before comparing a self-paced option with live instruction.

Published self-paced and on-demand training prices
ProviderOfferingFormatPublished priceExamChecked
CybraryFree AccessSelf-paced subscription$0Exam extra2026-06-14
Google Skills (Cloud Skills Boost)Starter (free monthly credits)Self-paced subscription$0 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
CybraryInsider Pro (monthly)Self-paced subscription$24.58 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
PluralsightComplete plan (monthly)Self-paced subscription$29 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
AWS Skill BuilderIndividual subscription (monthly)Self-paced subscription$29 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
Google Skills (Cloud Skills Boost)Pro subscription (monthly)Self-paced subscription$29 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
Google Skills (Cloud Skills Boost)Career Certificates (monthly)Self-paced subscription$49 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
CBT NuggetsIndividual subscription (monthly)Self-paced subscription$59 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
CourseraCoursera Plus (monthly)Self-paced subscription$59 / monthExam extra2026-06-14
CourseraCoursera Plus (annual)Self-paced subscription$199 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
PluralsightComplete plan (annual)Self-paced subscription$299 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
PluralsightCloud+ plan (annual) — includes former A Cloud GuruSelf-paced subscription$299 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
Google Skills (Cloud Skills Boost)Career Certificates (annual)Self-paced subscription$349 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
PluralsightCore Tech plan (annual)Self-paced subscription$449 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
AWS Skill BuilderIndividual subscription (annual)Self-paced subscription$449 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
NetCom LearningCompTIA Security+ Certification Prep (Exam SY0-701), US e-LearningOn-demand / self-paced$595Exam extra2026-09-12
CBT NuggetsIndividual subscription (annual)Self-paced subscription$599 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
INEPremium (annual)Self-paced subscription$799 / yearExam extra2026-06-14
ONLC Training CentersCompTIA Security+ (on-demand)On-demand / self-paced$1,295Exam included2026-09-09
Learning Tree InternationalCompTIA Security+ Exam Prep ToolkitOn-demand / self-paced$1,795Exam included2026-09-09

The top

Short instructor-led security training

These are typically certification-focused courses measured in days, unlike the multi-week career programs above. They provide live instruction and fixed dates, and several bundle an exam voucher. Prices below are what each provider publishes; where one does not publish a price, it is absent rather than estimated.

Published instructor-led security training prices
ProviderOfferingFormatPublished priceExamChecked
NetCom LearningCompTIA Security+ Certification Prep (Exam SY0-701), US government pricingLive virtual$1,949Exam extra2026-09-12
ONLC Training CentersCompTIA Security+ (instructor-led)Instructor-led$2,495Exam included2026-09-09
ONLC Training CentersCompTIA CySA+ (instructor-led)Instructor-led$2,495Not stated2026-09-13
ONLC Training CentersCompTIA SecurityX (instructor-led)Instructor-led$2,495Exam included2026-09-13
New HorizonsCompTIA Security+ (virtual instructor-led)Live virtual$2,495Exam extra2026-09-09
New HorizonsCompTIA CySA+ CS0-004 (instructor-led)Instructor-led$2,495Exam extra2026-09-13
NetCom LearningCompTIA Security+ Certification Prep (Exam SY0-701), US virtualLive virtual$2,675Exam extra2026-09-12
ONLC Training Centers(ISC)2 CISSP (instructor-led)Instructor-led$2,995Exam extra2026-09-13
Infosec InstituteCompTIA Security+ Boot CampLive virtual$2,999Exam included2026-09-09
ONLC Training CentersCompTIA PenTest+ (instructor-led)Instructor-led$3,295Exam included2026-09-13
New HorizonsCompTIA PenTest+ (instructor-led)Instructor-led$3,295Not stated2026-09-13
New HorizonsCompTIA SecurityX / CASP+ (instructor-led)Instructor-led$3,295Not stated2026-09-13
New Horizons(ISC)2 CISSPLive virtual$3,395Not stated2026-09-13
Learning Tree International(ISC)2 CISSP (government)Instructor-led$3,842Exam included2026-09-13
Learning Tree International(ISC)2 CISSP (commercial)Instructor-led$4,295Exam included2026-09-13
SANS Institute (GIAC)SEC401: Security EssentialsInstructor-led$8,780Exam extra2026-09-13

Two things are worth reading off that table. Whether the exam is included changes the total by the exam fee shown above, and it is easy to miss. And the spread between the cheapest and dearest option for the same credential is wide enough that “instructor-led” is not one decision — it is several. Price alone does not tell you which of them fits.

The decision

Questions that clarify whether paid structure fits your constraint

Before any of this, do the cheap experiment. Give the vendor’s own free objectives and material a bounded run — two weeks, a fixed number of hours you actually commit to. It costs nothing, and it tends to show you which of the following is true — which is what the rest of this page depends on.

  1. Did you study, or did the fortnight disappear? If the material was fine but the time never appeared, your obstacle is scheduling. A fixed-date course addresses that directly. If the time appeared and the material was the problem, a schedule will not help and instruction might.
  2. Could you practise? If you got stuck for want of an environment to try things in, a course with a prepared lab is buying you something real. If you have a homelab or the systems at work, you already have it.
  3. Did being stuck cost you days? Working alone, outside a domain you know, a single misunderstanding can absorb a week. Access to an instructor is worth money in proportion to how often that happened.
  4. Is there a date you do not control? A clearance requirement, a role that opens on a date, a contract condition. A deadline does not make instruction more effective, but it does change what a delay costs you.

There is no score here and no threshold, because we do not have evidence that would support one. If the fortnight went well, keep going; the exam voucher may end up being your only remaining purchase. If it did not, you have a better idea which obstacle you would be buying against, which is what makes a course worth judging on more than price.

On funding: if an employer, a training budget, or an unused vendor learning credit is paying, that changes what the course costs you — it is not evidence that the course is good or that you need it. Apply the same checks below either way, and ask whether the budget could buy something that fits better. It is worth asking whether either exists before you decide anything, because many people never do.

If you decide to buy

How to judge a specific course

The tables above are a price comparison, not a shortlist and not an endorsement — a published price tells you nothing about whether a course is any good. Once you know which obstacle you are buying against, compare offerings for one credential on these observable terms:

  • Which exam version does it target? Exam codes change. A course built for the previous version is a real risk and the answer should be specific.
  • What are the contact hours, and live or recorded? “Five days” can mean very different amounts of instruction.
  • Who teaches it, and can you reach them afterwards? Instructor access during the course is common; access after it is not, and that is often when you need it.
  • What exactly is the lab? A prepared environment you build in is different from watching someone else work in one.
  • Is the exam voucher included, and does it expire? Both matter, and the expiry is easy to miss.
  • What are the reschedule and cancellation terms? Fixed dates are the point, and also the risk, if your work is unpredictable.
  • If there is a guarantee, what is the remedy? A retake, extended access, more coaching, or money — and what conditions apply. Read it before it influences your decision.

Verify the answers on the exact course and policy pages. A dated public observation does not establish current availability, provider willingness, or a Learnerside relationship.

Before you spend anything

Check what the credential actually requires first. ISC2 states that full CISSP certification needs five years of cumulative qualifying work experience in two or more of its eight domains, with up to one year waivable by a degree or approved credential. Properly documented paid or unpaid internships can count, but passing the exam alone does not certify you — worth knowing before you buy training for it (ISC2 · checked 2026-07-26).

Common questions

Is a cybersecurity bootcamp worth it if I already work in IT?
It depends on the constraint. If you already have systems to practise on, knowledgeable people to ask, and a reliable study routine, test self-study first. Investigate paid instruction when its schedule, lab, feedback, or deadline support solves a gap you can name. Compare the exact course terms and dated price observation before paying.
What is the least you can spend and still sit the exam?
The exam voucher, unless a course bundles it or an employer buys it. CompTIA publishes the Security+ exam objectives free, so for someone who can work from official objectives and already has systems to practise on, the voucher may be the only cash required. The platform prices below are broad observations; verify exact credential, exam-version, format, and lab coverage before treating one as preparation.
Do bootcamps have better pass rates?
This page has no independently comparable provider pass-rate evidence. A cohort figure needs a defined denominator, attempt type, exam version, time window, and independent verification before it can support a comparison. Treat a pass or retake claim as a contract term to inspect, not as a prediction about you.
Does an employer-funded budget change the answer?
It changes what the course costs you, which is not the same as evidence that the course is good or that you need it. Employer money is still worth asking about, but apply the same checks either way, and consider whether that budget could buy something that fits your actual obstacle better. A course you did not need is not free just because someone else paid.