certification

CompTIA A+

A+ decision

Take A+ for support foundations, practice first, or choose a more specific route?

CompTIA A+ covers foundational IT support across hardware, operating systems, networking, security and troubleshooting. Both Core 1 and Core 2 exams are required. CompTIA A+ Core 1 and Core 2 V15 page · checked

The call: Choose CompTIA A+ when you need a broad help-desk and desktop-support foundation across hardware, operating systems, basic networking, security, and troubleshooting. Treat CompTIA's roughly 12 months of recommended support experience as guidance, not a registration gate. Choose a narrower or more advanced route when you can already demonstrate those support skills or your target work is directly in networking, cloud, or security.

You can ask now or keep researching. A short request lets Learnerside reply with your permission; sharing with a provider needs separate consent naming that provider.

Take A+ now when

  • You need one structured foundation across devices, operating systems, basic networking, security, and troubleshooting for help-desk or desktop-support work.
  • You will pair the two exam outlines with ticket simulations, labs, documentation, and practice explaining fixes to a user.
  • You want a broad vendor-neutral support checkpoint before choosing a networking, cloud, security, or systems specialization.

Wait, choose another route, or skip it when

  • CompTIA's recommended support background does not yet describe you and basic hardware, operating-system, networking, and troubleshooting tasks are still unfamiliar in practice.
  • You can already demonstrate the support skills covered by both A+ exams and a more specific credential better matches the work you want.
  • The two-exam cost would displace the hands-on practice and support artifacts needed to make the credential useful.
Current exam
220-1201 and 220-1202 (V15; both required) CompTIA A+ Core 1 and Core 2 V15 page · checked
Formal prerequisite
CompTIA lists no formal prerequisite for the current A+ exams. CompTIA A+ official page
Recommended background
CompTIA recommends about 12 months of hands-on experience in an IT support role. This is guidance, not a registration requirement. CompTIA A+ official page
Exam price
$274 each — $548 total CompTIA A+ — official vendor page · checked

Recorded U.S. standalone voucher subtotal in USD: one attempt per required Core exam, not a current quote. Preparation, labs, retakes, tax, discounts, regional prices and future renewal choices are excluded; unknown extras are not zero.

Renewal
Route-dependent; confirm the renewal method and total before purchase A+ renewal terms · checked
Page reviewed

Certification details change. Always confirm final pricing, availability, and credential terms on the official provider page linked in the sources below before you pay for anything.

What the decision means

A broad support foundation, not proof that you can resolve a real user incident

A+ is useful when help desk, desktop support, or general IT support is the target and hardware, operating systems, basic networking, security, and troubleshooting are the connected gap. It is two exams, so the credential makes most sense when that broad support scope matches the work you want.

What the exam tests

  • Core 1: mobile devices, networking, hardware, virtualization and cloud concepts, and hardware or network troubleshooting.
  • Core 2: operating systems, security, software troubleshooting, and operational procedures.
  • Performance-based application of support concepts alongside multiple-choice knowledge checks.

CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1201) · checked

What holding it does not prove

  • That you can calm a user, gather the right symptoms, and manage a ticket to closure.
  • That you can administer a company endpoint, directory, or device fleet safely.
  • That you have practiced backups, recovery, documentation, escalation, or change control.

What to build alongside it

  • A setup checklist for a clean workstation or virtual machine, including updates and security settings.
  • Three troubleshooting tickets that show symptoms, tests, root cause, fix, verification, and escalation choice.
  • A user-facing explanation of a technical fix without jargon.
  • A backup-and-restore exercise with evidence that the restored data or configuration works.

Use only systems and labs you own or are authorized to operate.

Before you schedule

Practice basic support tasks alongside A+ if computers are still unfamiliar

CompTIA lists no formal prerequisite and recommends about 12 months of hands-on IT support experience. You do not need to wait a year before studying, but you should build that practical depth rather than treat the recommendation as irrelevant.

Computer and operating-system use

Navigate files, settings, accounts, applications, services, updates, storage, and common Windows or Linux troubleshooting without being afraid to inspect the system.

A safe practice environment

Use spare hardware or virtual machines to install, configure, break, repair, update, back up, and restore systems without risking someone else’s data.

Support communication

Ask focused questions, write a useful ticket, explain the fix, protect sensitive information, and know when the issue should be escalated.

Compare Cisco CCST IT Support when you want a narrower entry support checkpoint. Choose Network+ when you can already demonstrate everyday endpoint support and networking is now the larger gap. Skip A+ when your target is software, data, or another path where broad desktop support is not the work you need to prove.

Training format decision

Choose the pace from your readiness—not the course title

A short boot camp, a longer full-day course, and an evening or weekend schedule can cover the same certification while offering very different amounts of instruction, practice, feedback, and recovery time.

Focused or accelerated

If you already perform the A+ skills in real work or labs, compare focused exam preparation and targeted gap-closing labs instead of automatically buying a full foundations course.

Confirm the prerequisite assumptions and the hours spent on review versus hands-on work.

Foundations and guided practice

If the prerequisite tasks above are still new, compare a longer or spread-out A+ course that leaves time for guided practice rather than assuming an intensive week will create the missing foundation.

Prioritize individual lab time, instructor feedback, and enough space between sessions to practise.

Schedule-led

Compare consecutive weekdays, shorter sessions, evenings, and weekends in your own time zone. Count every live meeting and total teaching hours; calendar duration alone does not establish depth.

Verify before you shortlist

  • Current course and exam version, every meeting date, local time, and seat availability
  • Total price, taxes, official courseware, labs, vouchers, retakes, and access periods
  • Instructor background, class size, recordings, support, and cancellation terms
  • Vendor authorization, learning-credit eligibility, and seller-versus-delivery identity

See dated, provider-published class references when available before deciding whether to contact Learnerside. These dates are not seat confirmations or a match to your requirements. Public provider research remains named and sourced.

See published class dates or ask for help

Preparation decision

Start with free study and support practice before paying for two-exam preparation

Start free

Use the current Core 1 and Core 2 outlines, the free A+ study sequence, virtual machines, and original ticket exercises. Study one core at a time, but budget for both required vouchers before deciding the credential is affordable.

Open the A+ free-study route →

Pay only for a named constraint

Paid A+ instruction can make sense when a beginner needs guided hardware or operating-system labs, instructor feedback, a fixed deadline, or employer funding. Check whether a quoted bundle covers one core or both, and whether vouchers, labs, retakes, and access time are included.

Compare published A+ training prices →

Employer-funded or team training

Define the capability target, learner count, starting level, deadline, delivery format, time zone, and approval requirement before asking for quotes.

Plan employer or team training →
Detailed exam costs and entry requirements

What CompTIA asks for

Recommended background: CompTIA recommends 12 months of hands-on experience in an IT support specialist role (a recommendation, not a requirement). [vendor page] A recommendation, not a registration requirement.

Prerequisites: No formal prerequisites for taking the CompTIA A+ exams.

The exam we have details for — this credential requires 2 exams, and the length below describes only the one our source names
Length90 minutes per exam
LanguagesEnglish

Exam details read from CompTIA A+ — official vendor page · checked 2026-06-19T04:57:16+00:00.

Cost & upkeep

Exam fee plus what it takes to keep it — the recurring cost most pages hide.

Exam fees (US, all 2 exams)
$274 each — $548 total CompTIA A+ — official vendor page · checked total across the 2 exams this credential requires, not one sitting · Recorded U.S. standalone voucher subtotal in USD: one attempt per required Core exam, not a current quote. Preparation, labs, retakes, tax, discounts, regional prices and future renewal choices are excluded; unknown extras are not zero. · verified 2026-09-09 · read from the official vendor page
Renewal fee (per 3-year cycle)
$75 CompTIA renewal fees · checked Retained fee observation, not the price of every renewal route. Confirm the applicable method, activity costs and current terms; no universal renewal total is established. · Upload CEUs / CertMaster CE / or retake; fee waived by passing a higher CompTIA cert

We publish no ROI or payback figure for this credential. What providers actually charge to train you → Training a team instead of yourself? →

Exam logistics

Exam at a glance

How CompTIA administers the exam — the logistics only. This is format, not a pass prediction, and it says nothing about how hard the material is for your background.

Duration
90 minutes per exam
Languages
English
Testing provider
Pearson VUE
Delivery
Pearson VUE delivers every CompTIA exam two ways: at an in-person Pearson VUE test center, or online-proctored from home via the OnVUE platform (webcam-recorded).
Online proctoring
For the OnVUE online option: a valid government photo ID, a private space with no unauthorized items (no bags, books, notes, phones, watches, or wallets), webcam recording throughout, and one continuous session with no scheduled breaks.

Policies change; verify delivery, ID, room-scan, reschedule, and refund rules on the official page before you book or pay. See exam-day logistics →

CompTIA A+ — official vendor page · checked CompTIA Candidate Testing Policies · checked
Preparation planning

Preparation time

Vendor-published course time: 50-80 hours

Vendor's published CertMaster Learn estimated duration for both required A+ exams combined; actual preparation time varies by background.

This is the provider's published course-content duration, not a promised calendar completion time. This figure is the published length of the vendor's own official training for this exam, or an explicit no-estimate gap. It is not a vendor estimate of preparation time, and not a promise of how long a learner will need to pass.

CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 · checked
Exam domains and weighting

Skills measured

Vendor-published objective domains and exam weights, normalized for display; use the cited official objectives for exact wording. CompTIA A+ — official vendor page · checked

Core 1 · 220-1201

28%Hardware and network troubleshootingUse a repeatable troubleshooting process to isolate device or connectivity faults, test a likely cause, and confirm the repair.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1201) · checked
25%HardwareIdentify PC components, peripherals, cabling, and installation needs; select a part that fits the stated user and system requirements.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1201) · checked
23%NetworkingExplain basic addressing, wireless, and common network services, then use those concepts to connect and troubleshoot a support device.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1201) · checked
13%Mobile devicesWork through mobile hardware, connectivity, and setup choices; practice identifying the fault before replacing a device or component.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1201) · checked
11%Virtualization and cloud computingDistinguish local virtual machines and common cloud service models, including the resources and connection a user needs to work with them.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1201) · checked

Core 2 · 220-1202

28%Operating systemsInstall, configure, and support common desktop operating systems and command-line tools without confusing a setup task with a repair.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1202) · checked
28%SecurityApply account, device, network, and data protections to everyday support scenarios; recognize when an issue needs escalation.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1202) · checked
23%Software troubleshootingDiagnose operating-system, application, and mobile-software symptoms before changing settings or reinstalling components.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1202) · checked
21%Operational proceduresDocument work, protect user information, follow change and safety practices, and communicate a support resolution clearly.CompTIA — A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (220-1202) · checked

This certification is earned through more than one exam, so the domains span all required exams — their percentages add up across exams, not to 100%.

Choose instruction, practice or exam review

A support-work goal can benefit from instruction without buying a certification exam. Choose the support you need; public resources and a private employer brief are optional.

The issuer compares these products for V15, covering the 220-1201 and 220-1202 certification identity. Confirm the exact product and whether its selected license covers one Core or both. Public descriptions do not prove delivered lessons, lab access or human feedback. Product audiences do not establish personal admission or exam readiness.

CertMaster Perform for A+ V15

The issuer describes instruction, videos, interactives, assessments and practice tests with simulated and live virtual-machine lab activities.

Observed 2026-10-07. A+ table: 30–60 estimated hours; selected-product/Core basis and personal effort unknown. Selected price, license and access unknown.

Starting knowledge: The issuer describes this product for building skills and concepts without prior related job-role experience.

Read the product format and purchase limits

The issuer describes instruction, videos, interactives, assessments and practice tests with simulated and live virtual-machine lab activities. No lessons or labs were personally operated. These are public A+ V15 product descriptions, not a selected purchase or inspected detailed syllabus. Selected SKU, separate or combined Core licenses, tuition and currency, access period, account permission, furnished lab activities, operated exercises, human feedback, accessibility, voucher and retake terms remain unverified. Publisher effort estimates are not contact hours or personal preparation time; their selected-product/Core basis is not established. A+ V15 identity and product-specific comparison come from the separately inspected official Core 1 and 2 page: https://www.comptia.org/en-us/certifications/a/core-1-and-2-v15/

The issuer describes this product for building skills and concepts without prior related job-role experience. That product audience is not formal exam eligibility, demonstrated readiness or a personal admission decision.

Its detailed taught syllabus was not inspected. Inspect the separate A+ product comparison and exam summaries.

CertMaster Learn for A+ V15

The issuer describes self-paced instruction, videos, interactives, simulated lab activities, assessments and practice tests.

Observed 2026-10-07. A+ table: 25–40 estimated hours; selected-product/Core basis and personal effort unknown. Selected price, license and access unknown.

Starting knowledge: The issuer describes this product for foundational skills without prior related job-role experience.

Read the product format and purchase limits

The issuer describes self-paced instruction, videos, interactives, simulated lab activities, assessments and practice tests. This description does not establish live-VM access or human feedback. These are public A+ V15 product descriptions, not a selected purchase or inspected detailed syllabus. Selected SKU, separate or combined Core licenses, tuition and currency, access period, account permission, furnished lab activities, operated exercises, human feedback, accessibility, voucher and retake terms remain unverified. Publisher effort estimates are not contact hours or personal preparation time; their selected-product/Core basis is not established. A+ V15 identity and product-specific comparison come from the separately inspected official Core 1 and 2 page: https://www.comptia.org/en-us/certifications/a/core-1-and-2-v15/

The issuer describes this product for foundational skills without prior related job-role experience. That product audience is not formal exam eligibility, demonstrated readiness or a personal admission decision.

Its detailed taught syllabus was not inspected. Inspect the separate A+ product comparison and exam summaries.

CertMaster Practice for A+ V15

The issuer describes timed practice exams, objective quizzes and mastery reporting.

Observed 2026-10-07. A+ table: 10–20 estimated hours; selected-product/Core basis and personal effort unknown. Selected price, license and access unknown.

Starting knowledge: The issuer describes this product for people with existing skills and concepts.

Read the product format and purchase limits

The issuer describes timed practice exams, objective quizzes and mastery reporting. This is exam assessment preparation, not a taught course or a furnished support-work lab. Mastery reporting does not guarantee an actual certification-exam result. These are public A+ V15 product descriptions, not a selected purchase or inspected detailed syllabus. Selected SKU, separate or combined Core licenses, tuition and currency, access period, account permission, furnished lab activities, operated exercises, human feedback, accessibility, voucher and retake terms remain unverified. Publisher effort estimates are not contact hours or personal preparation time; their selected-product/Core basis is not established. A+ V15 identity and product-specific comparison come from the separately inspected official Core 1 and 2 page: https://www.comptia.org/en-us/certifications/a/core-1-and-2-v15/

The issuer describes this product for people with existing skills and concepts. It is not evidence that a novice can skip instruction, or of personal readiness or formal exam admission.

Its detailed taught syllabus was not inspected. Inspect the separate A+ product comparison and exam summaries.

Compare both exam scopes separately from training

A+ V15 public objective summaries — Core 1 and Core 2

Official public V15 summary for 220-1201 and 220-1202; both Core exams must be the same version. Core 1: mobile devices 13%, networking 23%, hardware 25%, virtualization/cloud 11%, hardware/network troubleshooting 28%. Core 2: operating systems 28%, security 28%, software troubleshooting 23%, operational procedures 21%. These are exam objective summaries, not a detailed selected teaching syllabus, furnished practice, classroom time or readiness. The issuer separately recommends 12 months of IT support experience; that recommendation is not a formal course-entry prerequisite. Detailed objective PDF bytes were not inspected in this review. Selected exam registration and training purchases have separate costs and access.

Observed 2026-10-07. The two-Core certification requirement does not make every training product a two-Core license or include two vouchers.

Drafting a brief does not send it. A short request permits Learnerside to reply; provider sharing requires separate consent naming the recipient.

A+ taught course outlines and provider packages

Compare instruction for both 220-1201 and 220-1202, then check the lab environment, feedback and pace. A live five-day class and recorded self-study solve different scheduling and support needs. A two-Core course title does not establish two licenses, two vouchers or enough practice for your starting level.

A current both-Core teaching example

New Horizons course 300201697, displayed CourseID 3606093E, checked October 15, 2026 UTC, publishes 22 sections for both current exams without marking a Core boundary. These provider topics are separate from the exam blueprint; a complete issuer-authored V15 syllabus remains unestablished here.

Who it is for: the provider names PC support specialists and IT support specialists. Five virtual instructor-led days; verify the exact session clock time, delivery organization and seller. This current course page lists 12 months of hands-on IT support experience as a course prerequisite. Ask how a less experienced learner can prepare; do not mistake it for an issuer exam-registration rule.

Provider learning outcomes and printable course views

New Horizons describes these intended outcomes, paraphrased here. They are teaching goals, not a guarantee of competence or an exam pass.

  • Install and maintain endpoint hardware, mobile devices and software.
  • Diagnose common hardware, operating-system and network faults.
  • Apply basic endpoint protection and recognize threats.
  • Support Windows, Linux, macOS and cloud-based operating environments.
  • Use remote-support tools for distributed workers.
  • Explain basic scripting, virtualization and cloud concepts.

Checked October 15, 2026 UTC. These are HTML print views, not PDF downloads; the provider does not state a document edition. Provider-published for catalog 300201697, displayed CourseID 3606093E, covering 220-1201/220-1202. No exact shared courseware edition or Core-by-Core teaching split is established.

The print views omit prerequisites, package inclusions and the voucher FAQ. Use the main course page and confirm lab activation, access terms and vouchers separately. The schedule view does not resolve the conflicting class times noted below.

The 22 provider-published teaching families
  1. IT support and problem solving
  2. Motherboards and safe connections
  3. Memory, processors and storage
  4. PC hardware diagnosis
  5. Local networking and cabling
  6. IP configuration and connectivity
  7. Network services
  8. Virtualization and cloud foundations
  9. Mobile hardware and connectivity
  10. Printer setup and diagnosis
  11. Support communication and records
  12. Windows configuration
  13. Windows administration
  14. Windows diagnosis
  15. Windows protection
  16. Operating-system installation
  17. Other operating systems
  18. Small-office network protection
  19. Security administration
  20. Mobile software
  21. Data protection and responsible AI
  22. Operational practices and basic scripting

Confirm the actual courseware revision and how each required Core is taught; this agenda is not a universal syllabus for every provider or CertMaster SKU.

Published practical work and its limits
  • Examples include memory and GPU diagnosis, patch-panel connections, SOHO installation and mobile-hardware support.
  • Module quizzes and checkpoint reviews are listed; actual lab rights and individual feedback require confirmation.

Ask which tasks you perform, how errors receive feedback, and when lab access activates and expires. A sandbox, a quiz, a practice exam and an instructor-reviewed troubleshooting task provide different evidence of readiness.

Compare the exact seller and package

Prioritize CompTIA-authorized delivery, then verify the legal seller or franchise, delivery organization and territory. The references below include provider claims and dated offers; no current issuer-directory match for your selected package is established here. Shared official materials do not make support, practice or access interchangeable.

ONLC

Retained both-Core live and on-demand packages advertise two vouchers with an 85% assessment/proof release condition. Recorded access says 360 days from purchase, while generic wording says six months; confirm the contract term and three-month expert-chat scope. Live buyer-location/funding restrictions still apply. Confirm both exam deadlines and any optional recorded access with the live purchase.

Inspect the separate live and recorded packages · Inspect live XAPA12 · Provider authorization claim

New Horizons

Current 300201697: five-day virtual instruction; 12-month support-experience course prerequisite. Labs for 180 days and recordings for 90 days advertised; vouchers excluded. Visible 8–4 CST conflicts with structured 9–5 CST: confirm times, zone and seat. The retained price URL is a different, older course.

Inspect the current both-Core course · Provider partner claim

Learning Tree

Course 445 identifies both 220-1201/1202 and five-day online/in-person instruction, with nine teaching sections, ebook, practice questions and later coaching. Voucher inclusion uses singular wording: quantity remains unclear. Main prerequisites say 12 months’ support experience; the FAQ says 9–12 months in lab/field. Confirm calendar year, lab entitlement, access and commercial buyer eligibility. No separate self-paced SKU is established here.

Inspect course 445 · Provider authorization claim

Global Knowledge

The dated US reference is course 177256 / GK100287, identifying V15 live instruction, practical exercises and both Core vouchers. Confirm the delivered edition, authorized seller, employer-sponsored buyer route, total tuition, labs, access and complete schedule for the selected package. A regional or older course is not a substitute.

Inspect the US both-Core reference

NetCom Learning

The dated catalog reference lists combined-Core and separate Core 1/Core 2 products, alongside older 1100-series bundles. Match the exact 1201/1202 SKU and VILT or e-learning format before comparing an offer. Generic bundle wording does not establish the selected license, labs, support, voucher quantity or access term.

Inspect the catalog and selected SKU

Dated both-Core packages, separated by format

These retained ONLC and Learning Tree observations keep their original dates and conditions. Compare recorded with recorded and live with live; confirm voucher quantity/release/expiry, labs, feedback, taxes and cancellation. A listed price is not a seat or private team quote. Full market coverage remains incomplete.

3 dated options shown. Prices are in USD; check the date and package before using one in a budget.

Self-paced courses

ONLC Training Centers

CompTIA A+

$1,295 per course

CompTIA A+ (on-demand)

Delivery
on demand
Exam
Voucher listed — check conditions below
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

220-1201 and 220-1202; self-study videos, demonstrations, labs, quizzes and assessments. Title-specific access is 360 days from purchase; a generic section mentions six months, so confirm the contract term. Three months of content-expert chat support. Two vouchers are advertised, with an 85% assessment and proof required for release. Tax may apply.

Check this offer on ONLC Training Centers ↗

Live instructor-led courses

Learning Tree International

CompTIA A+

$3,455 per course

CompTIA A+ Certification Training (445), live instructor-led

Delivery
instructor led
Exam
Voucher listed — check conditions below
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

Five-day live instructor-led course covering 220-1201 and 220-1202, with an ebook, practice questions and after-course coaching. USD 3,455 commercial tuition; government block is separate. Provider lists exam voucher inclusion but does not clearly establish two vouchers for both required exams; confirm quantity and any remaining exam cost. Public calendar omits year. Confirm exact dates, seat, lab/recording access, taxes and terms. No separately priced self-paced offer is established here.

Check this offer on Learning Tree International ↗

ONLC Training Centers

CompTIA A+

$2,795 per course

CompTIA A+ (instructor-led)

Delivery
instructor led
Exam
Voucher listed — check conditions below
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

220-1201 and 220-1202; five-day live remote instructor-led class with labs and practice software. Two exam vouchers are advertised; release requires an 85% practice score and proof submission. Confirm taxes/extras, eligibility, schedule and cancellation terms. The provider also advertises optional on-demand access with the live purchase; confirm provisioning.

Check this offer on ONLC Training Centers ↗
Historical New Horizons price: course-version alignment unresolved

The retained price record links to course 300200589. On October 15, 2026 UTC, that source described 220-1101/1102 and a 20-section agenda, distinct from current 300201697’s 22 sections. The dated record’s 1201/1202 wording is not fresh evidence for the current course. Do not treat its amount as a verified current V15 offer; confirm the exact seller/course and total separately.

1 dated option shown. Prices are in USD; check the date and package before using one in a budget.

Live instructor-led courses

New Horizons

CompTIA A+

$2,495 per course

CompTIA A+ (virtual instructor-led)

Delivery
virtual live
Exam
Separate purchase
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

220-1201 and 220-1202; five-day virtual instructor-led course. Hands-on labs with 180-day post-course access and 90-day class recordings. Exam vouchers are not included by default; confirm both-core voucher costs, exact session total and conditional reschedule/retake terms.

Check this offer on New Horizons ↗
Independent free videos: one course for each Core

Professor Messer’s retained Core 1 and Core 2 videos are separate independent resources. Free viewing does not include authorized-partner teaching, operated labs, instructor feedback, paid notes/practice products or exam vouchers.

2 dated options shown. Prices are in USD; check the date and package before using one in a budget.

Self-paced courses

Professor Messer

CompTIA A+

$0 per course

CompTIA A+ 220-1201 Core 1 free video course

Delivery
on demand
Exam
Inclusion to confirm
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

Free to watch online as a recorded video course. Printed/PDF notes, offline downloads and full practice-exam products are separate purchases. No live instructor-led class, included hands-on lab environment or official exam voucher is established. 63 videos, 10h 11m. Covers Core 1 only; A+ requires both 220-1201 and 220-1202.

Check this offer on Professor Messer ↗

Professor Messer

CompTIA A+

$0 per course

CompTIA A+ 220-1202 Core 2 free video course

Delivery
on demand
Exam
Inclusion to confirm
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

Free to watch online as a recorded video course. Printed/PDF notes, offline downloads and full practice-exam products are separate purchases. No live instructor-led class, included hands-on lab environment or official exam voucher is established. 74 videos, 13h 41m. Covers Core 2 only; A+ requires both 220-1201 and 220-1202.

Check this offer on Professor Messer ↗
Retained A+ provider outlines and price evidence

A+ training: compare live support, self-study and both exam cores

Provider-published examples and both official A+ exam objectives rechecked September 28, 2026. These are research references, not confirmed seats, a complete market comparison or a booking recommendation.

ONLC live: a concentrated weekday course

ONLC lists USD 2,795 for five days covering 220-1201 and 220-1202, with published sessions from 10am to 4:45pm Eastern. Its starting expectations are basic computer, Windows and internet skills; Tech+ or equivalent knowledge is suggested. The outline spans hardware, networking, operating systems, security and troubleshooting. Additional study outside class is expected. Voucher release requires an 85% practice score in Certification mode, and the guarantee specifies a one-year exam deadline. Ask for written confirmation of voucher coverage for both cores. Read ONLC’s live A+ outline, conditions and calendar.

ONLC self-study: flexible hours, different support limits

The separate USD 1,295 on-demand package lists 360-day access starting at purchase, but only three months of online expert support. It includes videos, exercises and assessments without scheduled live classes. Its prerequisites list 12+ months of professional hardware/software experience—different from the live course. Confirm fit if you are new to IT, both-core voucher coverage and release conditions before purchase. Read the self-study package and access limits.

New Horizons: use the current course identity

The current New Horizons A+ page names both 220-1201 and 220-1202. Its URL contains catalog record 300201697, while the page itself displays CourseID 3606093E; quote both identifiers when verifying the exact offer. It lists USD 2,495 for five virtual instructor-led days, 180-day lab access and 90-day recordings. Exam vouchers are not included by default. The page lists 12 months of hands-on IT support experience as a course prerequisite. Confirm the delivered materials, learner fit, session, seller and both-exam total before shortlisting. Inspect the current New Horizons A+ page.

An older New Horizons listing at catalog URL record 300200589 still describes 220-1101 and 220-1102. It is not evidence that the current page teaches the old exams; verify the delivered exam codes when requesting a quote. Compare the older listing.

Compare both exam objectives with provider course outlines

Compare both A+ exam cores with the course you would actually attend

A+ requires two exams. Use the issuer objectives as a coverage checklist, then check whether a provider gives you enough hands-on troubleshooting, feedback and time for both cores. A course outline is not proof of equal teaching time or an open seat.

Official baseline

Exam scope: Core 1 (220-1201) weights Mobile Devices 13%, Networking 23%, Hardware 25%, Virtualization and Cloud Computing 11%, and Hardware and Network Troubleshooting 28%. Core 2 (220-1202) weights Operating Systems 28%, Security 28%, Software Troubleshooting 23%, and Operational Procedures 21%.

Training scope: CompTIA’s free V15 objectives (document revision 4.0) define the 220-1201 and 220-1202 exam scopes, not a taught-course sequence or furnished labs. Compare the delivered course revision, learner-performed practice and feedback. New Horizons’ 22-section provider agenda does not state a Core 1/Core 2 split. Core 1 encourages the six-step troubleshooting method for instruction but excludes the methodology itself from tested objectives.

How to use it: CompTIA recommends 12 months of hands-on IT support experience in the objectives. Treat that as preparation guidance, not an exam-registration requirement; a beginner may need foundational practice before an intensive five-day class.

CompTIA A+ Core 1 (220-1201) V15 exam objectives, version 4.0 (PDF) (checked September 28, 2026) · CompTIA A+ Core 2 (220-1202) V15 exam objectives, version 4.0 (PDF) (checked September 28, 2026)

ONLC Training Centers: outline fit

Course: Provider course XAPA12, live A+ preparation for 220-1201 and 220-1202

Format and pace: Five consecutive live-online weekdays, published at 10:00–16:45 Eastern; verify the exact session calendar and current tuition.

Published coverage:

  • hardware, mobile devices, networking, virtualization and troubleshooting for Core 1
  • operating systems, security, software troubleshooting and procedures for Core 2

Hands-on evidence: The outline describes installation, configuration and troubleshooting tasks, but does not quantify each learner’s lab time, feedback or post-class lab access.

Readiness evidence: ONLC expects basic computer, Windows and internet skills; it suggests Tech+ or equivalent knowledge. These are course-readiness expectations, not CompTIA exam eligibility.

Likely fit: A learner who already has basic computer fluency, can protect a concentrated workweek, and will practise outside class.

Archived provider calendar examples: These dates were observed when the source was checked; some have passed. They are not upcoming class cards, open seats, or a current quote. Use the training finder for its time-checked references, then verify dates and availability with the provider.

  • 2026-10-05 through 2026-10-09 · USD 2,795 published tuition · America/New_York. Provider-published dates. The October 5 session was labeled Ready to Run when checked; seat availability remains unverified. Published registration deadline: 2026-09-30.
  • 2026-11-02 through 2026-11-06 · USD 2,795 published tuition · America/New_York. Provider-published dates. The October 5 session was labeled Ready to Run when checked; seat availability remains unverified.

Verify before approval:

  • current seat, every meeting date, time zone and late-registration terms
  • two-core voucher coverage, 85% practice-score release condition and one-year deadline
  • learner-performed lab time, support and complete two-exam cost

ONLC A+ course XAPA12 (checked September 28, 2026)

New Horizons: outline fit

Course: A+ 220-1201/220-1202 page: URL catalog record 300201697; provider-displayed CourseID 3606093E

Format and pace: Five virtual instructor-led days; verify the exact session clock time, delivery organization and seller.

Published coverage:

  • devices, hardware, networking, virtualization and troubleshooting for Core 1
  • operating systems, security, support procedures and software troubleshooting for Core 2

Hands-on evidence: The provider lists hands-on labs with 180-day access and class recordings for 90 days; confirm activation, exercise access and instructor feedback.

Readiness evidence: This current course page lists 12 months of hands-on IT support experience as a course prerequisite. Ask how a less experienced learner can prepare; do not mistake it for an issuer exam-registration rule.

Likely fit: A learner who values live feedback plus longer stated lab and recording access, after checking the complete two-exam package.

Archived provider calendar examples: These dates were observed when the source was checked; some have passed. They are not upcoming class cards, open seats, or a current quote. Use the training finder for its time-checked references, then verify dates and availability with the provider.

  • 2026-10-05 through 2026-10-09 · USD 2,495 published tuition · Etc/GMT+6. Provider labels these dates Guaranteed to Run; that does not establish an available seat or immutable schedule.
  • 2026-10-19 through 2026-10-23 · USD 2,495 published tuition · Etc/GMT+6. Provider labels these dates Guaranteed to Run; that does not establish an available seat or immutable schedule.
  • 2026-11-02 through 2026-11-06 · USD 2,495 published tuition · Etc/GMT+6. Provider labels these dates Guaranteed to Run; that does not establish an available seat or immutable schedule.

1 additional dated observation is retained in the finder; passed or stale references cannot be added to a request.

Verify before approval:

  • current seat, every meeting date and time zone
  • both 220-1201 and 220-1202 materials, displayed CourseID 3606093E and delivered course version
  • two exam vouchers, excluded by default, plus retake and total-cost terms
  • legal seller, lab activation, cancellation and rescheduling terms

New Horizons A+ page (URL catalog record 300201697; displayed CourseID 3606093E) (checked September 28, 2026)

Evidence boundary: This comparison paraphrases public outlines; it does not republish a provider syllabus, verify a seat, or prove that every listed topic receives equal live instruction. A provider-issued proposal should identify the exact course version, schedule, delivery organization, inclusions and terms.

Working during the day or starting from scratch?

Learnerside advice: ask for actual live teaching hours, individual lab time, feedback and support availability—not just a longer calendar. Self-study may fit your evenings but is not an evening instructor-led class. These sources do not establish a live evening option. If basic troubleshooting is unfamiliar, request a readiness discussion and foundations-first route before choosing an intensive week.

Full prerequisite and version notes

Prerequisites

What's required vs merely recommended — stated plainly.

What CompTIA lists as prerequisites
What we found on the vendor eligibility page: No formal prerequisites for taking the CompTIA A+ exams.

“Recommended” is the vendor’s guidance, not a formal prerequisite. Confirm current exam availability on the official page before scheduling.

Version and change history

Version & change log

Which version is current — so you prepare for the exam that’s live today, not a retired one.

Version status
Current study target: CompTIA A+ V15, which requires both Core 1 exam 220-1201 and Core 2 exam 220-1202. CompTIA lists V15 as the newest version, launched March 25, 2025, and describes retirement as usually three years after launch (estimated 2028). That is an estimate, not a confirmed last exam date; verify the current exam before scheduling.
CompTIA A+ — current exam/version · checked
Official scope and provider study material

What this proves — and how CompTIA says to prepare

CompTIA’s own framing of who earns it and what it signals, plus official study material previously recorded as free. Access can change; verify the current free label on the provider page before relying on it. Quoted and cited — never dressed up as a job guarantee.

Who the vendor built it for
Best fit for entry-level IT support learners validating endpoint hardware, operating systems, troubleshooting, networking, security, mobile devices, cloud, and operational procedures.
Where it leads
Entry IT support baseline before Network+, Security+, or systems/cloud paths.

Official study material recorded as free

CompTIA A+ — official vendor page · checked
Skills, roles, and occupation context

Skills this credential is associated with

Derived from the roles CompTIA A+ supports — the skills those roles commonly require. This is a role-mediated association, not a claim that the exam objectives cover each skill. See the “Skills measured” section above for what the exam itself tests.

  • Cloud fundamentals
  • Customer support
  • Networking fundamentals
  • Troubleshooting
  • Windows administration

Job titles reported for related planning roles

Learnerside editorially associates this credential with the planning roles below. O*NET independently reports these titles for those roles’ occupations; O*NET does not say this credential is required or maps to them. This is not employer-demand, placement, or hiring evidence. Titles vary by employer, seniority, and location.

Source: O*NET OnLine supports the reported titles only; the credential-to-role association is Learnersideplanning context.

Learnerside planning roles associated with this credential

These are Learnerside editorial associations based on skill and role fit, not a vendor, O*NET, employer-demand, or universal-requirement claim. The sequence labels are planning context, not proof that this credential causes advancement, hiring, or placement.

  • Data Analyst · adjacent context
  • Help Desk Technician · entry association
  • IT Support Specialist · entry association
  • Technical Support Engineer · entry association

Occupation wages and role associations

Related occupation wage context

Learnerside role association: Help Desk Technician. high-confidence occupation mapping.

Related O*NET occupation: Computer User Support Specialists (15-1232.00).

BLS wage series: Computer User Support Specialists (SOC 15-1232), U.S. national.

10th–90th percentile: $40,980 to $100,540 BLS OEWS May 2025 — Computer User Support Specialists (15-1232), national · checked

These are occupation wages across credentials and experience levels, not certification-holder pay or a certification salary premium.

Employer-funded next step

Prepare a manager-ready CompTIA A+ request

After confirming fit and reviewing the free route, build a private approval brief that separates required exam costs, dated training observations, employer-plan checks, and quote unknowns. Nothing is saved or sent.

Build my employer-ready proposal

Core source records

Core source records

This table lists the page’s core content records and when they were checked. Claim-specific citations appear beside the relevant text and may not be repeated here.

IDSupportsSourceChecked
CIT-01Public official credential page for CompTIA A+.A+ Core 1 and 2 Certification V15 (New Version) | CompTIA2026-06-19T04:57:16+00:00
CIT-02Supports official facts for CompTIA A+.Official objective-domain source2026-06-08T23:06:42+00:00
CIT-03Supports official facts for CompTIA A+.Official objective-domain source2026-06-08T23:06:42+00:00
CIT-04Supports official facts for CompTIA A+.Official Html And Pdf2026-06-08T23:06:42+00:00