certification

Cisco Certified Network Associate

CCNA decision

Take CCNA for hands-on networking, build fundamentals first, or choose Network+?

The call: Choose Cisco CCNA when your target work centers on configuring, troubleshooting, and securing networks and you are ready to practice Cisco-style routing, switching, wireless, IP services, and automation. Choose Network+ first when you still need a vendor-neutral map of networking concepts or have not yet built basic subnetting and troubleshooting fluency.

You can ask now or keep researching. Learnerside can reply only with your permission; sharing with a provider needs separate consent naming that provider.

Take CCNA now when

  • You are targeting network support, network administration, infrastructure, or field-networking work where hands-on configuration matters.
  • You can already explain basic IP addressing, switching, routing, DNS, DHCP, and common troubleshooting steps and want a deeper implementation target.
  • You will pair the exam outline with labs and configuration evidence rather than rely on the credential alone.

Wait, choose another route, or skip it when

  • Subnetting, VLANs, routing tables, TCP and UDP, DNS, and DHCP are still isolated vocabulary rather than concepts you can use in a simple network diagnosis.
  • You are choosing CCNA only because it appears in postings, without checking whether the target work actually uses Cisco networking or comparable network administration skills.
  • The exam and optional training cost would displace the lab practice needed to make the credential useful.
Current exam
200-301 v1.1 through February 2, 2027; v2.0 begins February 3 Cisco CCNA refresh guidance · checked
Formal prerequisite
Cisco lists no prerequisite for the 200-301 CCNA exam. Cisco CCNA certification page
Recommended background
Before Cisco's official CCNA training, learners are expected to have basic computer literacy, PC operating-system navigation, basic internet usage, and basic IP-address knowledge. These are training-entry skills, not an exam prerequisite. Cisco CCNA training page
Exam price
$300 Cisco Certified Network Associate — official vendor page · checked

U.S. list observation for one 200-301 attempt, not a training quote. Confirm regional checkout and tax before budgeting.

Renewal
30 CE credits or a qualifying exam; activity cost varies CCNA renewal terms · checked
Page reviewed

Next source review 2026-09-07.

Certification details change. Always confirm final pricing, availability, and credential terms on the official provider page linked in the sources below before you pay for anything.

What the decision means

A practical networking target, not proof that you can change a production network safely

CCNA is useful when network support, administration, infrastructure, or field networking is the target and you are ready to configure and troubleshoot, not only recognize terminology. Its Cisco-oriented depth is valuable even when the eventual environment is mixed, but the exam should sit beside original lab and troubleshooting evidence.

What holding it does not prove

  • That you can diagnose a live outage, assess change risk, or communicate during an incident.
  • That you can design, secure, or operate a production network without supervision.
  • That you can transfer Cisco command recall into every vendor, cloud, or software-defined environment.

What to build alongside it

  • A Packet Tracer topology with VLANs, trunks, routing, addressing, DHCP, DNS, and access controls you can explain.
  • Saved configurations and show-command output that prove the intended state before and after a change.
  • A failure diagnosis that records symptoms, hypotheses, packet or device evidence, root cause, and verification.
  • A planned network change with impact, validation, rollback, and a short operator handoff.

Use only systems and labs you own or are authorized to operate.

Before you schedule

Build networking fundamentals first if the configuration has no mental model behind it

Cisco lists no exam prerequisite. Its official training expects basic computer literacy, operating-system navigation, internet use, and IP-address knowledge. In practice, subnetting and a repeatable troubleshooting method should be working skills before you book the exam.

Addressing and traffic flow

Subnet a small network, identify the gateway and broadcast boundary, and explain how DNS, ARP, switching, and routing move a packet from one endpoint to another.

Basic device configuration

Use a command line, read an interface or routing table, save state, compare before and after output, and recover from a simple configuration mistake in a lab.

Evidence-led troubleshooting

Start from a symptom, isolate the layer or path, collect device and packet evidence, change one thing, verify service, and document what happened.

Choose Network+ first when you still need a vendor-neutral map of networking concepts. Choose CCNA now when you can use the fundamentals and want deeper configuration practice. Skip it when the target work rarely touches networks or when another platform credential maps more directly to the systems you will operate.

Training format decision

Choose the pace from your readiness—not the course title

A short boot camp, a longer full-day course, and an evening or weekend schedule can cover the same certification while offering very different amounts of instruction, practice, feedback, and recovery time.

Focused or accelerated

If you already perform the CCNA skills in real work or labs, compare focused exam preparation and targeted gap-closing labs instead of automatically buying a full foundations course.

Confirm the prerequisite assumptions and the hours spent on review versus hands-on work.

Foundations and guided practice

If the prerequisite tasks above are still new, compare a longer or spread-out CCNA course that leaves time for guided practice rather than assuming an intensive week will create the missing foundation.

Prioritize individual lab time, instructor feedback, and enough space between sessions to practise.

Schedule-led

Compare consecutive weekdays, shorter sessions, evenings, and weekends in your own time zone. Count every live meeting and total teaching hours; calendar duration alone does not establish depth.

Verify before you shortlist

  • Current course and exam version, every meeting date, local time, and seat availability
  • Total price, taxes, official courseware, labs, vouchers, retakes, and access periods
  • Instructor background, class size, recordings, support, and cancellation terms
  • Vendor authorization, learning-credit eligibility, and seller-versus-delivery identity

See dated, provider-published class references when available before deciding whether to contact Learnerside. These dates are not seat confirmations or a match to your requirements. Public provider research remains named and sourced.

See published class dates or ask for help

Preparation decision

The cheapest sensible route is the current outline, Packet Tracer, and original lab evidence

Start free

Start with Cisco’s current outline, the Learnerside free-study route, Packet Tracer, and free instruction. Build and break small networks until you can explain the configuration, output, failure, fix, and validation without copying a walkthrough.

Open the CCNA free-study route →

Pay only for a named constraint

Paid CCNA instruction can make sense when live configuration feedback, guided labs, a fixed deadline, employer funding, or a schedule you will actually keep solves a named constraint. The dated one-exam price observation is separate from training. Verify the current exam price and every bundle inclusion before paying.

Compare published CCNA training prices →

Employer-funded or team training

Define the capability target, learner count, starting level, deadline, delivery format, time zone, and approval requirement before asking for quotes.

Plan employer or team training →
Detailed exam costs and entry requirements

What Cisco asks for

Prerequisites: None — Cisco lists no prerequisite for the 200-301 CCNA exam.

The exam itself
FormatCisco certification exam
Length120 minutes
LanguagesEnglish, Japanese

Exam details read from Cisco Certified Network Associate — official vendor page · checked 2026-06-12T17:54:15+00:00.

Cost & upkeep

Exam fee plus what it takes to keep it — the recurring cost most pages hide.

Exam price (US)
$300 Cisco Certified Network Associate — official vendor page · checked verified 2026-09-29 · read from the official vendor page
Renewal method
Earn 30 continuing-education credits or pass a qualifying exam before expiry Cisco renewal fees · checked

We publish no ROI or payback figure for this credential. Renewal method and total cost depend on the route chosen; confirm eligibility, exam tax and any learning charges before budgeting. See the full cost breakdown → What providers actually charge to train you → Training a team instead of yourself? →

Exam logistics

Exam at a glance

How Cisco administers the exam — the logistics only. This is format, not a pass prediction, and it says nothing about how hard the material is for your background.

Format
Cisco certification exam
Duration
120 minutes
Languages
English, Japanese
Testing provider
Pearson VUE
Delivery
Cisco exams are delivered by Pearson VUE three ways: at an Authorized Test Center, online-proctored from home via OnVUE, or self-administered online for 700-series exam codes only.
Online proctoring
For the OnVUE online option: a government photo ID matching your booking name, a quiet distraction-free space, a 360-degree room scan, a single display only, an empty desk (computer plus a beverage), check-in starting 30 minutes early, and a connection of at least 6 Mbps down / 2 Mbps up.

Policies change; verify delivery, ID, room-scan, reschedule, and refund rules on the official page before you book or pay. See exam-day logistics →

Cisco Certified Network Associate — official vendor page · checked Pearson VUE testing & OnVUE policies · checked
Preparation planning

Preparation time

Vendor's published course length, converted by Learnerside: about 64 hours

Vendor's published Cisco CCNA course structure is treated as classroom plus self-study duration; actual preparation time varies by background.

Learnerside worked this figure out from the length of the vendor's own official course for this exam, which the vendor publishes in days rather than hours. The vendor does not state this hour count. It is not an estimate of preparation time, and not a promise of how long a learner will need to pass.

Cisco — Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions training · checked
Exam domains and weighting

Skills measured

Vendor-published objective domains and exam weights, normalized for display; use the cited official objectives for exact wording. Cisco Certified Network Associate — official vendor page · checked

25%IP ConnectivityRead routing tables and forwarding decisions, configure static routes and single-area OSPF, and verify the path a packet actually takes.Cisco CCNA 200-301 v1.1 Exam Topics PDF (200-301) · checked
20%Network FundamentalsExplain how devices, cabling, addressing, wireless, and basic switching move traffic; verify a client network setting before changing infrastructure.Cisco CCNA 200-301 v1.1 Exam Topics PDF (200-301) · checked
20%Network AccessConfigure and verify VLANs, switch links, wireless access, and device management so users reach the intended network safely.Cisco CCNA 200-301 v1.1 Exam Topics PDF (200-301) · checked
15%Security FundamentalsIdentify network threats and access boundaries; apply basic device, wireless, and Layer 2 protections to a stated risk.Cisco CCNA 200-301 v1.1 Exam Topics PDF (200-301) · checked
10%IP ServicesUse services such as address translation, time, DHCP, DNS, monitoring, and quality of service to keep a network usable and diagnosable.Cisco CCNA 200-301 v1.1 Exam Topics PDF (200-301) · checked
10%Automation and ProgrammabilityUnderstand controller-based networking, APIs, data formats, and configuration automation well enough to choose a safe repeatable change.Cisco CCNA 200-301 v1.1 Exam Topics PDF (200-301) · checked

Compare the course, not just the CCNA label

What the published CCNA course outlines actually cover

Start with Cisco’s exam scope and official training outline, then compare each provider’s delivery, lab access and unresolved terms. Similar titles do not prove the same learning experience.

Official baseline

Exam scope: Cisco’s current 200-301 CCNA v1.1 exam covers network fundamentals, network access, IP connectivity, IP services, security fundamentals, and automation and programmability.

Training scope: Cisco’s official instructor-led outline covers IPv4/IPv6, switching, routing, VLANs, OSPF, ACLs, NAT, wireless, monitoring, device hardening, automation, and AI/ML in network operations. It also publishes a substantial hands-on lab list.

How to use it: Use the official outline as a baseline, not as proof that every provider teaches every item live. Ask which sections are instructor-led, self-study, demonstrated, or performed by you in a lab.

Cisco 200-301 CCNA exam page (checked September 12, 2026) · Cisco official CCNA training overview and lab outline (checked September 12, 2026)

ONLC: outline fit

Course: Provider page code CSCCN1; the title says CCNA v2.2 while the body still says v2.1 and v2.0

Format and pace: Live online weekday instruction with separately identified recorded self-study sections.

Published coverage:

  • network fundamentals and addressing
  • switching, VLANs and routing
  • security and device management
  • automation concepts

Hands-on evidence: The page states hands-on labs and an included CCNA exam voucher.

Readiness evidence: Compare the pace with prior subnetting, TCP/IP, switching and troubleshooting experience.

Likely fit: A learner who already has networking foundations and can absorb a concentrated weekday schedule.

Archived provider calendar examples: These dates were observed when the source was checked; some have passed. They are not upcoming class cards, open seats, or a current quote. Use the training finder for its time-checked references, then verify dates and availability with the provider.

  • 2026-10-26 through 2026-10-30 · USD 4,195 published tuition · America/New_York. Provider-published dates. The October 26 and November 16 sessions were labeled Ready to Run when checked; seat availability remains unverified. Published registration deadline: 2026-10-21.
  • 2026-11-16 through 2026-11-20 · USD 4,195 published tuition · America/New_York. Provider-published dates. The October 26 and November 16 sessions were labeled Ready to Run when checked; seat availability remains unverified.
  • 2026-12-07 through 2026-12-11 · USD 4,195 published tuition · America/New_York. Provider-published dates. The October 26 and November 16 sessions were labeled Ready to Run when checked; seat availability remains unverified.

2 additional dated observations are retained in the finder; passed or stale references cannot be added to a request.

Verify before approval:

  • delivered Cisco course version because the page conflicts with itself
  • which modules are live versus recorded
  • individual lab time and post-class access
  • voucher issue and expiry conditions
  • Cisco-course cancellation and reschedule restrictions

ONLC CCNA course outline (checked September 12, 2026)

New Horizons: outline fit

Course: The provider URL labels the course v2.2; the visible heading is generic CCNA training

Format and pace: Five-day virtual instructor-led intensive course.

Published coverage:

  • network components and IP addressing
  • switching and routing configuration
  • wireless and security fundamentals
  • automation and programmability

Hands-on evidence: The page states guided labs, digital courseware, 90-day recordings and three additional days of eLearning lab access.

Readiness evidence: Published course eligibility is not the same as a good starting point; basic IP addressing and troubleshooting fluency materially affect a five-day pace.

Likely fit: A learner seeking live instruction plus a defined recording and lab-access window.

Archived provider calendar examples: These dates were observed when the source was checked; some have passed. They are not upcoming class cards, open seats, or a current quote. Use the training finder for its time-checked references, then verify dates and availability with the provider.

  • 2027-01-04 through 2027-01-08 · USD 4,195 published tuition · Etc/GMT+6. Provider labels this date Guaranteed to Run; that is not a seat-availability guarantee.

Verify before approval:

  • delivered course version
  • exam voucher inclusion
  • exact lab platform and individual access
  • when the three additional lab days start
  • seller and delivery entity
  • all-sales-final, reschedule and retake conditions

New Horizons CCNA course outline (checked September 12, 2026)

Evidence boundary: This comparison paraphrases public outlines; it does not republish a provider syllabus, verify a seat, or prove that every listed topic receives equal live instruction. A provider-issued proposal should identify the exact course version, schedule, delivery organization, inclusions and terms.

Need authorized Cisco training? Cisco’s directory lists New Horizons Computer Learning Centers Inc. in its Americas Platinum Learning Partners section and links to newhorizons.com. The listing describes Cisco Learning Credit acceptance. This confirms the directory entry, not eligibility of every course or purchase: ask for the exact seller, delivering organization, eligible course and credit amount before approval. Browse Learnerside’s Cisco-authorized provider inventory · Verify the Cisco directory entry (checked September 11, 2026).

Two researched offers—not a complete market ranking. Provider-published details checked September 10, 2026; confirm current tuition, availability and written inclusions before paying.

ONLC

USD 4,195 listed tuition

Five scheduled days, live online instruction with separate recorded self-study sections.

One CCNA exam voucher and hands-on labs are stated.

Clarify before approval: The page mixes course-version labels. Confirm the delivered version, self-study workload and post-class lab access. Listed dates are not a seat reservation.

Read ONLC’s course outline and schedule

New Horizons

USD 4,195 listed tuition

Five-day intensive virtual instructor-led course.

Digital courseware, guided labs, 90-day recordings and three additional days of eLearning lab access are stated.

Clarify before approval: Exam voucher inclusion is not specified. Ask when the additional lab-access period starts and ends; it is not three additional instructor-led days.

Read New Horizons’s course outline and schedule

NetCom Learning: current Cisco authorization, but no current public CCNA schedule

Cisco’s current directory lists NetCom Learning as a Platinum Learning Partner and says it accepts CLCs. NetCom’s public CCNA promotion describes authorized curriculum and labs, but still displays February and March 2022 sessions beside a USD 2,995 amount. Treat that page as stale promotional evidence—not a current price, seat or schedule. Ask for the exact Cisco course code and version, seller, delivery organization, CLC eligibility, dates, time zone, labs, voucher, total and cancellation terms in one dated proposal.

Review NetCom authorization and stale-schedule evidence · Verify the current Cisco directory.

Choose a pace that leaves room to practise

Learnerside advice: if you already work with networks, focused instruction may help close specific gaps. If addressing and basic troubleshooting are new, compare a foundations-first route or a more spread-out timetable. More calendar days alone do not prove more teaching or better support.

Ask which topics receive live instruction, which require independent study, whether labs are individual, and how long you retain access. Course completion is not an exam-pass guarantee.

Research provider policies and authorization ·
Full prerequisite and version notes

Prerequisites

What's required vs merely recommended — stated plainly.

Formal certification prerequisites
What we found on the vendor eligibility page: None — Cisco lists no prerequisite for the 200-301 CCNA exam.
Background Cisco expects for its training
Basic computer use, operating-system navigation, internet use and IP addressing. Open exam eligibility does not mean that an intensive course starts from zero. Cisco CCNA course prerequisites · checked
Learnerside preparation advice
Network+-level networking foundations are a useful starting point, especially for a fast-paced class. You do not need to earn Network+ first: equivalent work experience or structured study can provide that foundation. Compare Network+ and CCNA.
Before choosing a boot camp
Check whether you can explain what an IP address and default gateway do, distinguish a switch from a router, and follow basic network troubleshooting. These are preparation prompts, not an admission test or a prediction that you will pass. If they are unfamiliar, build foundations and allow more practice time before choosing an intensive schedule.
Ask about the actual course, not just the credential
Request the course outline, assumed starting knowledge, instructor-led hours, required self-study, hands-on lab time and access after class. A short timetable does not show the total preparation needed. Ask which topics are taught live and which you must study independently.

“Recommended” is the vendor’s guidance, not a formal prerequisite. Confirm current exam availability on the official page before scheduling.

Version and change history

Version & change log

Which version is current — so you prepare for the exam that’s live today, not a retired one.

Version status
Current study target: 200-301 CCNA v1.1 through February 2, 2027. Cisco says CCNA v2.0 goes live February 3, 2027.

The vendor has announced an exam update taking effect 2027-02-03. It had not taken effect when Learnerside last read the official page on 2026-08-08 — verify the current version before scheduling.Cisco Certified Network Associate — official vendor page · checked

Cisco Certified Network Associate — current exam/version · checked
Official scope and provider study material

What this proves — and how Cisco says to prepare

Cisco’s own framing of who earns it and what it signals, plus official study material previously recorded as free. Access can change; verify the current free label on the provider page before relying on it. Quoted and cited — never dressed up as a job guarantee.

Who the vendor built it for
Best fit for learners validating associate-level networking, IP connectivity, security fundamentals, automation, and Cisco network operations.
What it signals you can do
Passing this exam earns you the CCNA certification, and can also can be used towards your recertification goals. Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions (200-301 CCNA) v1.1 is a 120-minute exam that tests a candidate's knowledge and skills related to network fundamentals, network access, IP connectivity, IP services, security fundamentals, and automation and programmability.
Where it leads
Core Cisco associate networking path; common bridge into network administration and later professional tracks.

Official study material recorded as free

Cisco Certified Network Associate — official vendor page · checked
Skills, roles, and occupation context

Skills this credential is associated with

Derived from the roles Cisco CCNA supports — the skills those roles commonly require. This is a role-mediated association, not a claim that the exam objectives cover each skill. See the “Skills measured” section above for what the exam itself tests.

  • API integration
  • Network security
  • Networking fundamentals
  • Python automation
  • Security fundamentals
  • Troubleshooting
  • Windows administration

Job titles reported for related planning roles

Learnerside editorially associates this credential with the planning roles below. O*NET independently reports these titles for those roles’ occupations; O*NET does not say this credential is required or maps to them. This is not employer-demand, placement, or hiring evidence. Titles vary by employer, seniority, and location.

Source: O*NET OnLine supports the reported titles only; the credential-to-role association is Learnersideplanning context.

Learnerside planning roles associated with this credential

These are Learnerside editorial associations based on skill and role fit, not a vendor, O*NET, employer-demand, or universal-requirement claim. The sequence labels are planning context, not proof that this credential causes advancement, hiring, or placement.

  • Cybersecurity Analyst · adjacent context
  • Junior Systems Administrator · entry association
  • Network Administrator · entry association
  • Network Automation Engineer · entry association
  • Network Security Engineer · entry association

Occupation wages and role associations

Related occupation wage context

Learnerside role association: Network Administrator. high-confidence occupation mapping.

Related O*NET occupation: Network and Computer Systems Administrators (15-1244.00).

BLS wage series: Network and Computer Systems Administrators (SOC 15-1244), U.S. national.

10th–90th percentile: $62,640 to $155,050 BLS OEWS May 2025 — Network and Computer Systems Administrators (15-1244), national · checked

These are occupation wages across credentials and experience levels, not certification-holder pay or a certification salary premium.

Employer-funded next step

Prepare a manager-ready Cisco CCNA request

You can prepare a private employer brief now. Compare the work, learner starting points, instruction and feedback, permitted practice, dated costs and unresolved terms. Free resources are optional; nothing is saved or sent.

Build my employer-ready proposal

Core source records

Core source records

This table lists the page’s core content records and when they were checked. Claim-specific citations appear beside the relevant text and may not be repeated here.

IDSupportsSourceChecked
CIT-01Public official credential page for Cisco Certified Network Associate.Cisco Certified Network Associate - Cisco2026-06-09T03:15:31+00:00
CIT-02Supports official facts for Cisco Certified Network Associate.View CCNA exam topics2026-06-12T17:54:15+00:00
CIT-03Supports official facts for Cisco Certified Network Associate.CCNA - Cisco2026-06-12T17:54:15+00:00
CIT-04Supports official facts for Cisco Certified Network Associate.Official exam topics2026-06-09T03:15:31+00:00