decision faq

Is CISSP a good first cybersecurity certification?

Direct answer

What to do

No — CISSP is not an entry-level credential, and pointing beginners at it is a common mistake.

Use this answer when

  • Your goal matches the question the page answers.
  • The dated conditions and official sources still apply to your situation.
  • You will use the linked decision page for the full next step.

Recheck before acting when

  • Your target work or starting point is different.
  • An exam, policy, or retirement date has changed since review.
  • The answer depends on an employer, provider, or personal circumstance not established here.

Reviewed 2026-08-26

Certification details change. Always confirm final pricing, availability, and credential terms on the official provider page linked in the sources below before you pay for anything.

Detailed evidence, examples, and source notes

An honest, cited answer. We make no ROI, salary, placement, or 'worth it' claim, and we don't track live job demand — where we don't know, we say so.

No — CISSP is not an entry-level credential, and pointing beginners at it is a common mistake. ISC2 requires five years of cumulative paid work experience across two or more CISSP domains for full certification; qualifying part-time work and documented paid or unpaid internships may count under ISC2's published rules. If you pass the exam without that experience, you become an Associate of ISC2 and then have six years to earn the required experience. For an actual entry point, ISC2 offers Certified in Cybersecurity (CC), which it describes as proving "foundational knowledge... for an entry- or junior-level cybersecurity role" with no work experience required. A common honest starting sequence is CompTIA Security+ (or CC) first, then build experience, then pursue CISSP years later. On cost: we hold no dated check of ISC2's one-time free-CC offer, so this page does not state whether it is still open. We do hold dated reads of the standing fees — ISC2's exam-pricing page lists CC standard registration at US$199 for the Americas, and its member policy sets the CC-only annual maintenance fee at US$50, due annually. Both exclude training, retakes, taxes and membership fees. Confirm current availability and cost on the official ISC2 pages before you rely on either.

What we don't know

We do not hold a dated check of (ISC)²'s current CISSP experience-waiver list, so this page does not state which credentials qualify for the one-year waiver, or whether that list has changed. Verify it on the official (ISC)² page before relying on a waiver.

Related

Core source records

This table lists the page’s core content records and when they were checked. Claim-specific citations appear beside the relevant text and may not be repeated here.

IDSupportsSourceChecked
CIT-01Answer to: Is CISSP a good first cybersecurity certification?(ISC)² — CISSP experience requirements (5 years; Associate path)2026-07-26
CIT-02Answer to: Is CISSP a good first cybersecurity certification?(ISC)² — Certified in Cybersecurity (entry-level, no experience)2026-08-23
CIT-03Answer to: Is CISSP a good first cybersecurity certification?(ISC)² — exam pricing (CC standard registration US$199)2026-08-23
CIT-04Answer to: Is CISSP a good first cybersecurity certification?(ISC)² — member policies (CC-only annual maintenance fee US$50)2026-08-23