certification

Choose AWS SAA training.

Compare AWS architecture instruction, current exam objectives and optional practice. Confirm the selected course and purchase conditions before booking.

Ask about AWS SAA training

Choose architecture instruction or exam review

Learning AWS architecture and taking SAA-C03 are separate decisions. Course completion does not prove production experience or exam readiness.

Ask about AWS SAA training · Build a private AWS SAA brief

Architecting on AWS — published 2022 classroom outline

Course outline reference · Observed 2026-10-07

Published 2022 outline. Selected syllabus, tuition, practice access and feedback remain unknown.

Read the scope and decision limits

The published 2022 Architecting on AWS classroom outline describes intermediate, three-day instruction using presentations, discussion, demonstrations, assessments and hands-on lab activities. Physical pages 2–4 describe console and CLI work, VPC, databases, scaling, automation, serverless, edge delivery, recovery and a capstone. This dated outline is not proof of the selected 2026 syllabus, furnished practice environment, personal access, feedback, schedule or completion evidence. Three catalogue days are not measured contact hours or personal exam preparation time.

The 2022 outline recommends AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials OR AWS Technical Essentials and distributed systems, networking and cloud background. These are recommendations, not mandatory badges or verified admission conditions.

Selected price and currency, dates, seats and practice access require confirmation in the source and owning guide.

SAA-C03 current official exam objectives

Exam objective reference · Observed 2026-10-07

Current SAA-C03 exam scope; separate from instruction and permitted practice.

Read the scope and decision limits

The current SAA-C03 exam guide describes secure, resilient, high-performing and cost-optimized architecture at 30, 26, 24 and 20 percent. It recommends about one year of hands-on AWS design experience; this is not a mandatory badge prerequisite. Exam objectives are separate from a taught course, delivered practice or personal readiness.

Inspect the owning guide and original outline for course entry requirements and recommended preparation. This summary does not establish personal admission.

This public exam outline is a scope reference, not purchased instruction or practice access. Exam registration, courses and permitted practice have separate costs.

For official instruction, match the exact seller and delivering organization in the AWS Training Partner directory. Delivery, digital training and resale are distinct capabilities; a logo or similarly named company is insufficient. For the same official course and revision, compare lab entitlement, instructor feedback, timetable, recordings, access expiry and total cost.

Official course evidence · checked 2026-10-15 UTC

Course outline, practice and provider options

Architecting on AWS

Intermediate architecture instruction · 3 catalogue days · 2022 copyright outline · preparation p2; modules/labs pp2–4

Certification skills describe assessment. This outline describes teaching; ask the seller which revision, exercises and support you receive.

Published course modules (13 topics)
  1. Architecture foundations
  2. Account security
  3. Networking foundations
  4. Compute choices
  5. Storage choices
  6. Database services
  7. Monitoring and scaling
  8. Infrastructure automation
  9. Containers
  10. Hybrid and extended networking
  11. Serverless designs
  12. Edge services
  13. Backup and recovery

Recommended course background: AWS recommends Cloud Practitioner Essentials or Technical Essentials, plus distributed-systems, networking/IP-addressing, multi-tier architecture and cloud knowledge. These are course recommendations, not required prior certifications.

Published practice and lab work
  • Explore console/CLI operations and build VPC, database and highly available layers.
  • Implement serverless and CloudFront/S3 designs.
  • Complete a multi-tier capstone using partial solutions and instructor consultation; seven lab descriptions are published.

Edition and access: The 2022 classroom outline and 24-hour on-demand listing are separate evidence. Confirm delivered course edition and SAA-C03 mapping. New Horizons’ dated package advertises 90-day recordings and excludes its separate $150 voucher. Visible yearless 8 AM–4 PM CST sessions conflict with structured 9 AM–5 PM CST; old complete calendars below remain historical observations, not fresh seats.

Start with AWS classroom instruction and AWS Skill Builder digital learning. A subscription, exam review, standalone course and course with Jam are different products. Check the exact entitlement and account requirements.

New Horizons’ AWS catalog calls it a Select Training Partner. This is a provider statement; confirm the selected legal seller and region with AWS. A generic partner claim or Marketplace listing does not verify every course package.

Official self-paced learning references
  • Architecting on AWS · official on-demand listing

    The issuer lists a 24-hour on-demand course, separately from live classroom instruction. Catalog duration is not personal preparation or live contact time. Confirm the selected free/paid entitlement, lessons, practice account and access period; no subscription inclusion is assumed.

New Horizons

Three-day live virtual/private architecture course. Current observation retains $2,025 tuition and separate voucher; confirm recordings, actual personal practice and delivered syllabus.

Check the exact course reference

Learning Tree

Three-day live reference claiming official AWS curriculum. Earlier dated commercial/government prices remain below; fresh currency, buyer eligibility, delivery entity, voucher and lab access need confirmation.

Check the exact course reference

Global Knowledge

Dated US course reference; confirm the current selected offer, exact authorized entity, delivery format, course edition and total.

Check the exact course reference

Dated instruction prices

These prices describe named packages at the recorded dates. Confirm the checkout total, teaching format, lab license, feedback, vouchers and cancellation terms. A calendar is not a confirmed seat. A practical AWS course is separate from exam registration and complete blueprint coverage.

4 dated options shown. Prices are in USD; check the date and package before using one in a budget.

Live instructor-led courses

Ascendient Learning

AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate

$2,190 per course

Architecting on AWS (AWS-ARCH)

Delivery
virtual live
Exam
Inclusion to confirm
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

Three-day live instructor-led virtual course, USD 2,190 public tuition; interactive audio/video and guided hands-on labs. A listed session is not a confirmed seat. Official exam voucher, recording access, tax, cancellation/transfer terms and exact lab access length need confirmation. This course supports practical preparation, not a complete certification award or all exam objectives. October 21–23, 2026 listing, 09:00–17:00 EDT. Provider FAQ states included AWS on-demand videos/coursebooks for one year and AWS labs for three months, with access instructions on the first live-class day; this is bundled access, not an independently priced self-paced offer. Confirm exact entitlements for your enrollment. FAQ: https://www.ascendientlearning.com/about/faq/on-demand

Check this offer on Ascendient Learning ↗

Learning Tree International

AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate

$2,785 per course

Architecting on AWS (1205), live instructor-led

Delivery
instructor led
Exam
Inclusion to confirm
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

Three-day live instructor-led Architecting on AWS course using provider-stated official AWS curriculum with after-course coaching. USD 2,785 commercial tuition; government block is separate. The course supports architecture preparation, not the complete certification award or a promise to pass. Calendar omits year. Exam voucher, exact lab entitlement, recordings, taxes and seat remain unverified.

Check this offer on Learning Tree International ↗

New Horizons

AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate

$2,025 per course

Architecting on AWS (SAA)

Delivery
virtual live
Exam
Separate purchase
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

Advertised virtual instructor-led tuition per course; private group quote is separate. Described instruction does not establish personal lab/account entitlement, usage charges, individual reviewed work, tax/cancellation or a seat. Visible yearless 8 AM-4 PM CST sessions conflict with structured 9 AM-5 PM CST dates; confirm complete dated timetable. Three catalogue days; contact hours and personal effort unknown. Separate $150 voucher is excluded. Provider advertises 90-day class recordings; confirm start, expiry and selected package. Confirm delivered syllabus and SAA-C03 mapping; distinct 24-hour digital listing is not this live package.

Check this offer on New Horizons ↗

ONLC Training Centers

AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate

$1,495 per course

Architecting on AWS (SAA prep; instructor-led)

Delivery
instructor led
Exam
Inclusion to confirm
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

Three-day live online course at USD 1,495. The page publishes complete October 7-9 and November 4-6, 2026 daily times. It calls the course hands-on but does not publish the lab exercise list, delivered AWS curriculum revision, explicit SAA-C03 mapping or exam-voucher status; seats remain unverified.

Check this offer on ONLC Training Centers ↗
Independent exam-preparation supplements

Tutorials Dojo’s dated video products are shown separately from official instruction. AWS Training Partner authorization is not established for these products; compare their stated access, exam version and practice support.

1 dated option shown. Prices are in USD; check the date and package before using one in a budget.

Self-paced courses

Tutorials Dojo

AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate

$10.39 per course

AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate SAA-C03 Video Course

Delivery
on demand
Exam
Inclusion to confirm
Buyer
Commercial
Observed

One-year access to this recorded video course. Observed sale USD 10.39; listed regular price USD 12.99. Confirm promotion eligibility, end date, final price and tax. A sample test is described; the full practice-exam product and study-guide ebook are separate add-ons. Official exam voucher and hands-on lab access need confirmation. SAA-C03 alignment is provider-stated; check your target exam date.

Check this offer on Tutorials Dojo ↗

Browse all dated training prices. Compare the exact course and complete package rather than treating a format price gap as like-for-like savings.

Public study and a private brief are optional. A short request permits Learnerside to reply; provider sharing requires separate consent naming the recipient.

Certification details change. Always confirm final pricing, availability, and credential terms on the official provider page linked in the sources below before you pay for anything.

What the decision means

Use the credential for the work it actually tests

Use Solutions Architect – Associate when AWS architecture is the target and you can already reason about identity, networking, compute, storage, resilience, and cost tradeoffs.

Aws Solutions Architect Associate — official vendor page · checked

What it does not prove

  • That you have designed or operated a production AWS system.
  • That you can defend architecture choices without diagrams, tests, and tradeoff evidence.

Starting knowledge to consider

  • Cloud and AWS service fundamentals.
  • Identity, networking, storage, compute, availability, and cost basics.
  • Enough hands-on work to test a design rather than memorize a service list.

Practical work to build alongside it

  • Create an architecture diagram with trust and failure boundaries.
  • Write a service-selection decision with cost and operational tradeoffs.
  • Test a failure or recovery scenario and record what changed.

Use only systems and labs you own or are authorized to operate.

Preparation decision

Choose support that fits your work and schedule

Choose guided architecture review, instruction, permitted practice or self-study according to your needs. Confirm what a selected course supplies; a public outline does not establish access or feedback.

Detailed exam costs and entry requirements

What AWS asks for

Recommended background: At least 1 year of hands-on experience designing AWS cloud solutions (the vendor's recommendation, not a requirement); candidates with 1–3 years of IT experience have earned it. [vendor page] A recommendation, not a registration requirement.

Prerequisites: None — Cloud Practitioner is suggested first for those with no IT experience, but it is not required.

The exam itself
FormatMultiple choice and multiple response

Exam details read from Aws Solutions Architect Associate — official vendor page · checked 2026-06-08T00:44:45+00:00.

Cost & upkeep

Exam fee plus what it takes to keep it — the recurring cost most pages hide.

Exam price (US)
$150 Aws Solutions Architect Associate — official vendor page · checked U.S. list price; regional pricing and currency conversion may differ—confirm AWS exam pricing. · verified 2026-08-23 · read from the official vendor page
Renewal method
Pass the latest SAA exam or Solutions Architect Professional for three years; paid Skill Builder maintenance extends one year AWS renewal fees · checked

We publish no ROI or payback figure for this credential. Renewal method and total cost depend on the route chosen; confirm eligibility, exam tax and any learning charges before budgeting. What providers actually charge to train you → Training a team instead of yourself? →

Exam logistics

Exam at a glance

How AWS administers the exam — the logistics only. This is format, not a pass prediction, and it says nothing about how hard the material is for your background.

Format
Multiple choice and multiple response
Testing provider
Pearson VUE
Delivery
AWS Certification exams are delivered through Pearson VUE, either at a test center or online-proctored (OnVUE), with 24x7 online proctoring in English.
Online proctoring
One primary government ID, a required system test beforehand, and NO breaks — you may not leave the camera's view for any reason, including a restroom break, for the whole exam.

Policies change; verify delivery, ID, room-scan, reschedule, and refund rules on the official page before you book or pay. See exam-day logistics →

Aws Solutions Architect Associate — official vendor page · checked Amazon Web Services — AWS Certification (program pages) · checked
Preparation planning

Preparation time

Vendor's published course length: 3 days (Learnerside converts at 8 hours per day: about 24 hours)

Vendor's published Architecting on AWS classroom course duration of 3 days; actual preparation time varies by background.

Learnerside worked this figure out from the length of the vendor's own official course for this exam, which the vendor publishes in days rather than hours. The vendor does not state this hour count. It is not an estimate of preparation time, and not a promise of how long a learner will need to pass.

Amazon Web Services — aws-architect-digital exact course/digital observation · checked
Exam domains and weighting

Skills measured

Vendor-published objective domains and exam weights, normalized for display; use the cited official objectives for exact wording. Aws Solutions Architect Associate — official vendor page · checked

30%Design Secure ArchitecturesDesign identity and network boundaries, secure workloads, and protect data; explain how each control meets the access and risk requirements.Amazon Web Services — AWS Certification Exam Guides (SAA-C03) · checked
26%Design Resilient ArchitecturesChoose loose coupling, scaling, redundancy, backups, and recovery patterns that meet the service's availability and failure requirements.Amazon Web Services — AWS Certification Exam Guides (SAA-C03) · checked
24%Design High-Performing ArchitecturesMatch compute, storage, database, networking, and data movement choices to the workload's performance and scaling needs.Amazon Web Services — AWS Certification Exam Guides (SAA-C03) · checked
20%Design Cost-Optimized ArchitecturesCompare service and purchasing options against usage, storage lifecycle, data-transfer costs, and the required performance level.Amazon Web Services — AWS Certification Exam Guides (SAA-C03) · checked

Free ways to study for AWS Solutions Architect Associate

3 free resources on record

Official sources control exam scope. Independent resources are reviewed for usefulness and labeled; none is a pass guarantee or affiliate recommendation.

AWS SAA training: compare architecture practice, not certification labels

AWS and provider course pages checked September 13, 2026; the New Horizons class detail was checked September 28. Two ONLC calendars include complete 2026 dates and daily times. New Horizons’ linked class detail identifies one November 30, 2026 start date; other yearless dates and Learning Tree dates remain outside the matcher.

Compare AWS architecture practice, pace and package terms

SAA-C03 tests architecture decisions across security, resilience, performance and cost. Compare the work a learner performs, the foundation expected before class and the complete purchase package—not just whether a course mentions the certification.

Official baseline

Exam scope: AWS identifies four scored domains: secure architectures at 30%, resilient architectures at 26%, high-performing architectures at 24%, and cost-optimized architectures at 20%. The target candidate has at least one year of hands-on experience designing cloud solutions with AWS services.

Training scope: Architecting on AWS is an intermediate three-day course. The currently linked PDF (copyright 2022, not a new 2026 revision) combines architecture discussions with labs involving a VPC, database layer, availability, serverless services, edge delivery and a multi-tier capstone. It recommends Cloud Practitioner Essentials or Technical Essentials plus distributed-system, networking, IP-addressing and multi-tier knowledge. The catalog’s optional extra Jam day is for private AWS delivery, not an included provider entitlement. Confirm the actual courseware revision, individual lab time and access period.

How to use it: Use the one-year target profile as a readiness benchmark rather than an exam-registration rule. A three-day class is most useful when core AWS, networking and distributed-system concepts are already familiar enough to spend class time on design tradeoffs.

Exam format, price and language: SAA-C03: 130 minutes, 65 multiple-choice or multiple-response questions; 50 scored and 15 unidentified unscored items. Minimum passing scaled score 720 on a 100–1,000 scale—not 72% correct. Published exam fee USD 150 per attempt before applicable tax and local-currency differences; not course tuition. Pearson VUE offers test-center or online delivery. Italian exam delivery retires after December 31, 2026; this is not retirement of SAA-C03 or the credential.

Registration versus readiness: AWS does not require Cloud Practitioner certification or a course before this exam. The target of at least one year designing AWS solutions and the classroom prerequisites describe readiness, not eligibility. Separately confirm identification, location and age policies and request needed exam accommodations before scheduling.

Validity and renewal: The credential is valid for three years. Passing the current SAA exam or Solutions Architect Professional renews it for three years. A separate paid Skill Builder maintenance route extends an active credential for one year and requires being within 90 days of expiry. Do not equate that subscription route with free renewal or a three-year extension.

Course and learning-series topics below are paraphrased. Exam weights come from the separate study guide; they are not classroom time allocations or guaranteed question proportions. Topic mappings are Learnerside’s interpretation, not an official course-to-exam coverage guarantee.

  • Identity, account boundaries and network controls: Learnerside topic mapping to secure architectures · Exam weight: 30%.
  • Availability patterns, recovery and the multi-tier capstone: Learnerside topic mapping to resilient architectures · Exam weight: 26%.
  • Compute, storage, databases and edge-service choices: Learnerside topic mapping to high-performing architectures · Exam weight: 24%.
  • Resource sizing and purchase-model tradeoffs: Learnerside topic mapping to cost-optimized architectures; verify teaching depth separately · Exam weight: 20%.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate exam guide (SAA-C03) (checked September 30, 2026) · AWS Architecting on AWS official outline (PDF copyright 2022; linked by current catalog) (checked September 30, 2026) · AWS classroom catalog and optional Jam delivery (checked September 30, 2026) · AWS Solutions Architect Associate credential, fee and language notice (checked September 30, 2026) · AWS before-testing eligibility, pricing and accommodations policy (checked September 30, 2026) · AWS current recertification table and eligibility windows (checked September 30, 2026)

ONLC: outline fit

Course: Provider course ZARC16, AWS Architecting; ONLC describes it as SAA foundation when combined with AWS Technical Essentials

Format and pace: Three consecutive live-online weekdays with a published 6-hour-45-minute window each day.

Published coverage:

  • availability, backups and recovery patterns
  • data, database and processing patterns
  • operations, monitoring and infrastructure automation
  • networking and throw-away environments

Hands-on evidence: The provider labels the class hands-on but does not publish an exercise list, lab platform, individual practice time or post-class access on the checked page.

Readiness evidence: ONLC expects AWS Technical Essentials or equivalent knowledge plus system administration, enterprise server, networking and database familiarity.

Likely fit: A learner with solid AWS and infrastructure foundations who wants a lower-priced live schedule and can verify how this provider-specific outline maps to the current SAA-C03 domains.

Archived provider calendar examples: These dates were observed when the source was checked; some have passed. They are not upcoming class cards, open seats, or a current quote. Use the training finder for its time-checked references, then verify dates and availability with the provider.

  • 2026-10-07 through 2026-10-09 · USD 1,495 published tuition · America/New_York. Provider-published 2026 dates and daily times; seat availability and run status remain unverified.
  • 2026-11-04 through 2026-11-06 · USD 1,495 published tuition · America/New_York. Provider-published 2026 dates and daily times; seat availability and run status remain unverified.

Verify before approval:

  • exact delivered course revision and SAA-C03 alignment
  • learner-performed lab list, platform and access period
  • exam voucher inclusion or exclusion
  • AWS authorization, seller and delivery organization
  • seat, final total and cancellation terms

ONLC AWS Architecting course ZARC16 (checked September 13, 2026)

New Horizons: outline fit

Course: Architecting on AWS, provider course 200007908

Format and pace: Three-day virtual instructor-led course; private-group delivery is a separate offer.

Published coverage:

  • Well-Architected fundamentals and account security
  • networking, compute, storage and databases
  • monitoring, scaling, automation and containers
  • serverless, edge services, backup and recovery

Hands-on evidence: The page names five labs spanning EC2/API tools, VPC and EC2, highly available RDS, serverless architecture and CloudFront with S3. Confirm individual access and the post-class lab window.

Readiness evidence: The provider recommends AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials or distributed-systems knowledge plus networking, IP addressing, multi-tier architecture and cloud concepts.

Likely fit: A learner who wants the AWS course pattern, named lab activities and recordings and can verify the exact seller, authorization coverage and seat. One November 2026 calendar has a linked year-bearing class detail; other dates still need year confirmation.

Archived provider calendar examples: These dates were observed when the source was checked; some have passed. They are not upcoming class cards, open seats, or a current quote. Use the training finder for its time-checked references, then verify dates and availability with the provider.

  • 2026-11-30 through 2026-12-02 · USD 2,025 published tuition · Etc/GMT+6. The linked provider class detail states November 30, 2026 as the start date and the course page lists November 30–December 2. The provider calls it Guaranteed to Run; seat availability remains unverified.

Verify before approval:

  • selected calendar year and source-time-zone interpretation
  • exact seller or franchise and delivery organization
  • AWS Partner coverage and assigned AWS Authorized Instructor
  • lab and 90-day recording entitlements
  • separate USD 150 voucher terms
  • seat, final total, retake, reschedule and cancellation terms

New Horizons Architecting on AWS course 200007908 (checked September 13, 2026)

Learning Tree International: outline fit

Course: Course 1236, Architecting on AWS

Format and pace: Three-day live instructor-led online or in-person course with after-course coaching.

Published coverage:

  • compute, databases and AWS networking
  • identity, elasticity, availability and monitoring
  • automation, caching and decoupled architectures
  • microservices, serverless, recovery objectives and backup

Hands-on evidence: The page describes official AWS training curriculum and after-course coaching but does not expose the exact learner-performed lab list or access terms.

Readiness evidence: Learning Tree recommends AWS Technical Essentials or equivalent knowledge plus distributed systems, networking, multi-tier architectures and cloud concepts.

Likely fit: An employer-sponsored learner who values coaching and official-course positioning and can confirm buyer eligibility, labs, voucher status and the year attached to the published calendar.

Dated schedule: No exact calendar is linked in Learnerside’s retained observations. Ask for every meeting date, time and source time zone.

Verify before approval:

  • calendar year for every displayed date
  • commercial versus government buyer eligibility
  • legal seller and current AWS authorization
  • learner-performed labs and coaching limits
  • exam voucher inclusion or exclusion
  • seat, format, final total and cancellation terms

Learning Tree Architecting on AWS course 1236 (checked September 13, 2026)

Evidence boundary: This comparison paraphrases public outlines; it does not republish a provider syllabus, verify a seat, or prove that every listed topic receives equal live instruction. A provider-issued proposal should identify the exact course version, schedule, delivery organization, inclusions and terms.

Start with the architecture decisions you can already make

AWS targets SAA-C03 at people with at least one year of hands-on AWS solution-design experience. Treat that as readiness guidance, not a formal registration prerequisite. Before compressing preparation into three live days, be ready to reason about identity, networks, compute, storage, databases, availability, monitoring, recovery and cost across a realistic workload.

The three packages observed in September are materially different

ONLC lists USD 1,495 and a provider-specific pattern-oriented course. It calls the class hands-on but does not publish the lab exercise list or voucher status. New Horizons lists USD 2,025, five named labs, 90-day recordings and a separate USD 150 exam voucher; its issuer organization profile was observed September 11, while the exact seller or franchise, current authorization and delivery team still require confirmation. Learning Tree lists USD 2,785 commercial and USD 1,702 government tuition, official AWS curriculum and coaching; buyer eligibility, learner-performed labs and voucher status remain open.

Calendar evidence must be complete before matching

ONLC publishes October 7–9 and November 4–6, 2026 with daily Eastern-time windows. New Horizons’ course page lists November 30–December 2; its provider cart link (adds this class to a cart) identifies the 2026 start year. Its CST time label is unambiguous for this late-November date. This is a dated reference, not a confirmed seat or purchase. Other yearless New Horizons and Learning Tree dates remain research only.

Research AWS SAA training and ask for help · Build an employer-ready AWS SAA proposal · Verify AWS training-provider evidence

Full prerequisite and version notes

Prerequisites

What's required vs merely recommended — stated plainly.

What AWS lists as prerequisites
What we found on the vendor eligibility page: None — Cloud Practitioner is suggested first for those with no IT experience, but it is not required.

“Recommended” is the vendor’s guidance, not a formal prerequisite. Confirm current exam availability on the official page before scheduling.

Version and change history

Version & change log

Which version is current — so you prepare for the exam that’s live today, not a retired one.

Version status
Current study target: AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate exam SAA-C03.
Aws Solutions Architect Associate — current exam/version · checked
Official scope and provider study material
Skills, roles, and occupation context

Skills this credential is associated with

Derived from the roles AWS Solutions Architect Associate supports — the skills those roles commonly require. This is a role-mediated association, not a claim that the exam objectives cover each skill. See the “Skills measured” section above for what the exam itself tests.

  • AWS architecture
  • Azure administration
  • Cloud fundamentals
  • Linux administration
  • Networking fundamentals
  • Python automation
  • Software development
  • Stakeholder communication
  • Systems analysis

Learnerside planning roles associated with this credential

These are Learnerside editorial associations based on skill and role fit, not a vendor, O*NET, employer-demand, or universal-requirement claim. The sequence labels are planning context, not proof that this credential causes advancement, hiring, or placement.

  • Cloud Architect · entry association
  • Cloud Engineer · entry association
  • DevOps Engineer · entry association
  • Solutions Architect · entry association
Alternatives, DoD mappings, and credential relationships
Optional: check your AWS Solutions Architect Associate readiness

Readiness check · ~2 min · no score · no email

Not sure if AWS Solutions Architect Associate is the right next step for you?

Answer a few quick questions and we’ll map your background against the exam’s published domains and the vendor’s recommended prep — a study order and a sequencing read, not a score or a pass prediction. Everything you need to decide is already above; open this only if you want a personalized plan.

  • Design Secure Architectures30%
  • Design Resilient Architectures26%
  • Design High-Performing Architectures24%
  • Design Cost-Optimized Architectures20%
Common AWS Solutions Architect Associate questions
Answer blocks

Common Questions

Is the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate worth it?

Take AWS Solutions Architect Associate if you are targeting AWS solution design and already have hands-on cloud foundations. It is excessive if your goal is cloud literacy only or you have not yet built practical AWS experience.

AWS recommends hands-on experience designing cloud solutions. Use labs against the published exam domains to expose skill gaps before committing; the credential does not guarantee a job, salary, or return on investment.

Citations: AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate official exam page; the experience AWS states it expects.

Run the free Learnerside fit plan to see whether SAA fits your target role and starting point before you pay the exam fee.

What jobs can the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate help with?

SAA most directly supports cloud engineering, cloud architecture, solutions architecture, and DevOps tracks. In Learnerside's data it's a strong-signal credential for those roles — meaning it fits the work, not that any employer requires it.

Among the roles SAA maps to, only Cloud Engineer has a national wage mapping in our data: BLS OEWS (May 2025) reports a national annual median of $116,580 (the same OEWS table's mean is $122,230) for the broader occupation Computer Occupations, All Other (SOC 15-1299) — occupation-level context, dated, and not caused by holding this certification. Architect, solutions-architect, and DevOps roles are described qualitatively because we have no national wage mapping we can confidently attribute. We do not track employer mention counts for this cert, so we frame these as role-fit, not employer demand. This is role-fit context, not a market size, demand, salary, or ROI claim.

Citations: Learnerside role↔cert edges; BLS OEWS national, SOC 15-1299, annual median $116,580 (May 2025).

The free Learnerside fit plan maps your background to these roles and shows the realistic next steps.

How long does it take to study for the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate?

Learnerside's reviewed evidence establishes no reliable universal study-duration range for AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate. Plan from the official exam scope, the vendor's recommended background, and the labs you cannot yet complete without help.

Start with a scope check, practice the weak domains hands-on, and schedule only after you can explain and perform the tested work consistently. Calendar time without a measured skill gap is not a defensible readiness estimate.

Citations: Official vendor exam scope and recommended-experience source cited on this page.

Use the free Learnerside fit plan to get a sequencing estimate tuned to your current experience.

Is the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate hard?

How hard AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate is depends on the background it assumes, and the vendor states that directly: At least 1 year of hands-on experience designing AWS cloud solutions (the vendor's recommendation, not a requirement); candidates with 1–3 years of IT experience have earned it.

That is the vendor's own statement, not a Learnerside rating and not a pass rate — we found no candidate pass rate on the vendor pages we reviewed. Compare it against the exam scope the vendor publishes and your own hands-on gaps to decide what to practise.

Citations: The vendor's own statement of the experience it expects, read 2026-08-23 (https://aws.amazon.com/certification/certified-solutions-architect-associate/); official vendor exam scope cited on this page.

The free Learnerside fit plan shows how this difficulty lands relative to your experience.

What should I know before the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate?

AWS recommends about one year of hands-on experience designing AWS cloud solutions before SAA — advisory, not a hard prerequisite. There are no formal eligibility requirements; you can sit the exam without prior certs.

Per AWS, the ~1-year experience guideline is a recommendation, and candidates with 1–3 years of IT experience have passed. Foundational AWS familiarity (the kind covered by Cloud Practitioner) helps but is not required. Confirm the current exam fee and prerequisites on the official AWS page before booking.

Citations: AWS official exam page (recommended experience / no formal prerequisites, as of 2026-06-13)

Run the free Learnerside fit plan to see whether to build experience or a foundational cert first.

Does AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate expire?

Yes. AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate is valid for 3 years, after which you must recertify (as of 2026-06-14).

AWS certifications run on a three-year recertification cycle.

Citations: AWS recertification page, https://aws.amazon.com/certification/recertification/ (as of 2026-06-14).

Weighing the Solutions Architect - Associate path? Learnerside's free planner checks the fit - nobody pays us to recommend anything.

How do I renew AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate?

One route is to pass the current version of the exam before expiry; AWS issues a 50% discount voucher for recertification exams (as of 2026-06-14). AWS lists the full set of qualifying routes on its recertification page — check there before assuming this is the only one.

Learnerside records an examination-based renewal for this credential and a recert discount voucher, and records no continuing-education route. Learnerside has verified the exam route and the voucher against the page cited below; it has not verified the complete list of qualifying exams, so it does not state one.

Citations: AWS recertification page, https://aws.amazon.com/certification/recertification/ (as of 2026-06-14).

Learnerside maps your AWS architect track and recert timing against your goal - free.

How much does AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate renewal cost (and how many CEUs)?

Learnerside records no AWS maintenance fee and no CEU requirement for this credential. Those are absences in our records rather than confirmation that AWS imposes neither, and AWS lists the qualifying renewal routes on its own recertification page. If you renew by retaking the current Associate exam, the cost is that exam fee again, reduced by a 50% recertification discount voucher (as of 2026-06-14). AWS also recognises other qualifying exams, which are priced differently, so this figure covers the retake route only.

Learnerside records no CEU count for this credential. The 50% voucher lowers the recert exam cost; confirm the qualifying routes on the AWS recertification page.

Citations: AWS recertification page, https://aws.amazon.com/certification/recertification/ (as of 2026-06-14).

Learnerside plans the real cost of holding this cert over time - free, no upsell.

Core source records

Core source records

This table lists the page’s core content records and when they were checked. Claim-specific citations appear beside the relevant text and may not be repeated here.

IDSupportsSourceChecked
CIT-01Public official credential page for AWS Solutions Architect Associate.AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate exam guide2026-06-12T17:53:02+00:00