article · Certification difficulty & pass rates

AZ-104 Pass Rate: What Microsoft Publishes

Direct answer

What to do

The AZ-104 pages Learnerside reviewed publish skills and scaled-score rules, not a candidate pass rate. Use official facts and hands-on readiness checks.

Plan with

  • The current exam identity, objectives, format, and vendor guidance.
  • A passing score only as the threshold the exam owner publishes—not as a candidate pass rate.
  • Your diagnostic results, practical work, and specific weak domains.

Do not infer

  • That a 700 passing score means 70 percent of candidates pass.
  • That one training provider’s student outcome is the global exam pass rate.
  • That an unsourced percentage predicts your result or how much preparation you need.

Reviewed 2026-08-27

Certification details change. Always confirm final pricing, availability, and credential terms on the official provider page linked in the sources below before you pay for anything.

Detailed evidence, examples, and source notes

Last updated 2026-07-21 — the article text's own revision date; dated evidence on this page carries its own check date. See the Citation Ledger at the foot for this page's sources.

The official AZ-104 pages Learnerside reviewed publish no candidate pass rate. No official source reviewed for this page contains a candidate pass-rate percentage. What Microsoft does publish on those pages: the current study guide with skills measured as of April 17, 2026, the Azure Administrator candidate profile, a 100-minute assessment, domain weights, renewal and fee posture, and a 700-of-1000 scaled-score standard that is not the same as 70 percent. Any page handing you a specific percentage without naming its source, candidate population, denominator, exam version, and time period is skipping the evidence question. Use the official facts, role evidence, and a hands-on readiness plan instead.

Next decision

Use the official scope and your hands-on evidence to decide whether AZ-104 is the right next administrator proof. Review AZ-104 current exam facts and readiness.

More on Microsoft Azure Administrator Associate

The straight answer: the reviewed Microsoft pages publish no AZ-104 pass rate

The official AZ-104 pages Learnerside reviewed publish no candidate pass rate. Those pages publish a scaled-score standard — technical exams are scored on a 1 to 1000 scale, 700 or greater passes, the scaled score may not equal 70 percent, some questions may be unscored, and there is no penalty for guessing — but no official source reviewed for this page publishes the share of candidates who pass. Our published sources records that absence: the Microsoft Learn study guide and the Azure Administrator credential page were live checked on 2026-07-05, and neither contains a candidate pass-rate percentage.

A pass-rate figure that arrives without a methodology — who measured, over what candidate population and denominator, which exam version, what time window, first attempts or retakes — is skipping the evidence question. Any pass-rate figure that lacks those methodological details should be treated as unsupported rather than as a measured rate. And keep the definitions straight — a passing score is the bar one candidate must clear; a pass rate is the share of candidates who clear it. Turning Microsoft's score standard into a pass rate is a source error, not a shortcut.

What Microsoft actually publishes (use this instead)

The Microsoft Learn pages were live checked on 2026-07-05, and the official record is strong enough to plan from. The study guide lists skills measured as of April 17, 2026.

AZ-104 factWhat we verifiedPlanning use
CredentialMicrosoft Certified: Azure Administrator AssociateConfirms the role-based Azure administration credential.
Level/product/roleIntermediate, Azure, AdministratorRecords the official Intermediate Azure Administrator positioning.
Skills dateSkills measured as of April 17, 2026Prevents stale-outline study plans.
Assessment duration100 minutes on the credential pagePacing context, not a pass-rate estimate.
Passing score700 or greater scaled scoreA score standard, not the share of candidates who pass.
Renewal12-month renewal frequencyMaintenance context for the credential decision.
Cost165 USD — the United States price in Microsoft's published exam-pricing data, captured 2026-06-19Budget context, not ROI. Microsoft prices by proctoring country or region; confirm yours before purchase.
EligibilityNo prerequisite stated; the official page does not mention AZ-900Access context, not a readiness guarantee.

Use the domain weights as the study map: Manage Azure identities and governance 20-25 percent, Implement and manage storage 15-20 percent, Deploy and manage Azure compute resources 20-25 percent, Implement and manage virtual networking 15-20 percent, and Monitor and maintain Azure resources 10-15 percent. Those five weighted domains — identity and governance, storage, compute, virtual networking, and monitoring and maintenance — are what the exam is built around. If your study plan is mostly flashcards, the domain map is telling you to add labs. This is enough evidence for a serious plan; it is not enough to publish a pass-rate percentage, salary claim, ROI claim, or job guarantee.

Why circulating pass-rate numbers are weak evidence

A usable pass-rate source would name who collected the data, the denominator, first attempts versus retakes, the exam version, geography, and time period. The Microsoft sources Learnerside reviewed for this page do not publish a candidate pass rate at all, so any percentage you find circulating elsewhere is coming from somewhere other than that reviewed record — and if it does not carry those methodological details, treat it as unsupported rather than as a measured rate. Learnerside does not quote those percentages because repeating a number without its methodology makes it look stronger than the evidence allows.

What the exam signals matters more than what a rumor claims. Microsoft describes the AZ-104 candidate as having subject-matter expertise implementing, managing, and monitoring an organization's Azure environment, including virtual networks, storage, compute, identity, security, and governance. Before choosing AZ-104, compare your own skills against that official candidate profile: Microsoft's Azure Administrator page does not state a prerequisite and does not mention AZ-900, but the absence of a stated prerequisite is not the same thing as beginner readiness.

A readiness plan that beats pass-rate guessing

Use a readiness plan that mirrors the official domains and real work. Step 1: read the AZ-104 study guide and copy the five domain weights into a checklist. Step 2: build a small Azure lab for identity, resource groups, RBAC, storage accounts, virtual machines, virtual networks, monitoring, and backup. Step 3: as a Learnerside study heuristic, practice each core operation through more than one interface where it is reasonable — for example the portal and PowerShell or Azure CLI — so you are not memorizing a single click path. Step 4: write a troubleshooting note for each domain, including symptom, likely cause, command or portal check, fix, and rollback. Step 5: use AI to quiz you and generate scenarios, then verify every command and service behavior against Microsoft documentation. Step 6: compare your lab evidence against cloud support, cloud engineer, and network administrator role evidence before scheduling.

That sequence gives you more control than a pass-rate number. It turns AZ-104 into an evidence-backed readiness decision instead of a bet on someone else's unsourced statistic.

Frequently asked questions

Does Microsoft publish an AZ-104 pass rate?

No AZ-104 candidate pass-rate percentage appears in the official Microsoft pages Learnerside reviewed. Those pages publish exam scope and scaled-score rules, not the share of candidates who pass.

Is the AZ-104 passing score the same thing as a pass rate?

No. A passing score is the score a candidate must reach. A pass rate is the share of candidates who pass. Microsoft also says technical exam scores are scaled from 1 to 1000 and may not equal a simple percent-correct score.

What AZ-104 facts are source-backed here?

The current sources support AZ-104, Intermediate Azure Administrator positioning, skills measured as of April 17, 2026, a 100-minute assessment duration, domain weights, a 700-or-greater scaled score standard, a 165 USD United States exam fee (Microsoft's published exam-pricing data, captured 2026-06-19), and no prerequisite stated on the official page, which does not mention AZ-900.

Core source records

This table lists the page’s core content records and when they were checked. Claim-specific citations appear beside the relevant text and may not be repeated here.

IDSupportsSourceChecked
CIT-01Microsoft publishes AZ-104 skills, candidate profile, and a 700 passing-score reference, not a public candidate pass-rate percentage.https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/credentials/certifications/resources/study-guides/az-1042026-09-09
CIT-02Microsoft technical exam scores are scaled scores, so 700 does not mean a 70 percent pass rate.https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/credentials/certifications/exam-scoring-reports2026-07-05
CIT-03The Azure Administrator Associate credential page confirms level, product, role, renewal, last-updated date, target profile, and assessment duration.https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/credentials/certifications/azure-administrator/2026-09-09
CIT-04AZ-104 domain weights should drive study planning more than pass-rate folklore.https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/credentials/certifications/resources/study-guides/az-1042026-09-09
CIT-05AZ-104 cost should be treated as cited exam-fee context, not ROI or salary evidence.https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/credentials/exam-pricing.json2026-09-09
CIT-06AZ-104 eligibility is open-registration with recommended expertise; the official page does not state a prerequisite and does not mention AZ-900.https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/credentials/certifications/azure-administrator/2026-09-09