team training

Training a team on CISSP: what providers publish, and what to ask before you buy

Review Training a team on CISSP: what providers publish, and what to ask before you buy exam facts, costs, eligibility notes, prep context, and official-source evidence.

Use the 3-question Fit Check

Certification details change. Always confirm final pricing, availability, and credential terms on the official provider page linked in the sources below before you pay for anything.

The prices in the table below are figures each named provider publishes on its own page, with the date each was read. They are observations, not quotes or claims of availability; verify the current offer directly with the provider.

Before you buy training, check you can actually be certified. 5 years of cumulative qualifying work experience in 2 or more of the 8 CISSP domains; qualifying part-time work and documented paid or unpaid internships may count. ISC2 states that earning a post-secondary degree (bachelors or masters) in computer science, information technology (IT) or related fields may satisfy up to one year of the required experience, as may one additional credential from the ISC2 approved list, leaving a minimum of 4 years. Endorsement by an ISC2-certified professional in good standing, completed within 9 months of the exam date. Adherence to the ISC2 Code of Ethics is a condition of certification. Pass the exam to become an Associate of ISC2; you then have up to 6 years to earn the 5 years of required experience before the full CISSP is awarded. Read from the vendor's own eligibility page, 2026-09-23.

The first thing to know

Among the 4 first-party prices verified below, published prices for CISSP training run from $1,795 per course (ONLC Training Centers, self_paced) to $4,295 per course (Learning Tree International, Instructor-led (live)) — roughly 2.4× between them, for preparation toward the same exam. The offerings differ in delivery, in what is bundled and in how long access lasts; the table shows what each provider states; none of the pages read for this table explains why its price sits where it does.

The exam itself is $749 per person at the vendor's published standard price (vendor-published, read 2026-07-05). It is not comparable to the course prices above, which are published per course with no stated participant scope. Treat the exam as a separate budget line unless the provider or employer confirms that a voucher is included; not every learner you train will necessarily sit the exam.

Before you price anything

There is free and official material for CISSP. The page below collects what each source publishes, with the date every link was checked, and labels which are official and which are independent.

Do not assume what is or is not included. Free offerings sometimes carry a schedule, a support channel, a hosted lab or completion tracking, and sometimes carry none of those — check the linked descriptions for what each one actually provides. The table below shows price and delivery for the paid options, not what is inside each course.

Why look before pricing a group: it is a low-cost way to begin checking whether your people are starting from the same place, and that difference shapes what you buy.

Free and official study for CISSP

What each provider publishes

These are prices as each provider publishes them. Some publish a single list price; others publish a floor, marked in the table where that is what the source shows. Whether a price covers one participant or a whole class, and whether a group or private rate exists, are both on the list of things to ask further down.

ProviderOfferingDeliveryPublished priceExam feeAs ofSource
ONLC Training Centers(ISC)2 CISSP (on-demand)self_paced$1,795 per courseexam fee not included2026-09-13link
ONLC Training Centers(ISC)2 CISSP (instructor-led)Instructor-led (live)$2,995 per courseexam fee not included2026-09-13link
New Horizons(ISC)2 CISSPVirtual instructor-led$3,395 per coursenot stated2026-09-13link
Learning Tree International(ISC)2 CISSP (commercial)Instructor-led (live)$4,295 per courseexam fee included2026-09-13link

Where the Exam fee column reads exam fee not included, the provider states: 180-day 24/7 access begins at purchase; lectures, demonstrations, lab exercises, quizzes and study guide are stated. Exact current exam-outline alignment, lab platform, feedback, support limits, voucher status, tax and refund terms remain unverified; 5-day live course with practice test; exam voucher excluded. When checked September 13, ONLC listed Sep 21-25 (now completed), Oct 19-23, Nov 16-20 and Dec 14-18, 2026 plus Jan 18-22, 2027. These are historical calendar observations, not current seats or quotes. The page says Sixth Edition but its mapping appendix still names the April 2021 exam outline; require current April 2024 alignment. The completed September session had a listed late price of USD 3,245 from Sep 15 and a Sep 16 registration deadline; both dates have passed. Where it reads not stated, the provider does not say either way — that is a question to put to them, not a cost to assume.

Keeping it current. CISSP carries a published renewal cost of $405 per person over three years (vendor-published, read 2026-07-26). That is a fee, not a full cost of ownership — staff time and administration sit outside it.

Government and other restricted rates

Listed separately because eligibility is restricted and these are not prices an ordinary buyer can take. Confirm with the provider whether your organisation qualifies before treating one as available.

ProviderOfferingPublished rateAs ofSource
Learning Tree International(ISC)2 CISSP (government)$3,842 per course2026-09-13link

Places on a public course, or a cohort of your own

None of the provider pages read for this table states a private-cohort price, so there is no crossover point to give you and we will not invent one. What can be laid out is the questions that bear on it. These are not the only considerations — the provider checklist below covers more — but they are four that can change the shape of the purchase:

1. Do your people start from the same place? Establish the spread between your strongest and weakest first; the free material above is one way to find out.

2. Does anyone need a practice environment you cannot provide? If so, ask each option what it includes and for how long.

3. Is there a fixed date to hit? If yes, ask which options can actually be delivered against it, and what notice each requires.

4. Does completion have to be evidenced to anyone? If so, establish what form that evidence takes and whether attendance alone satisfies the requirement, or whether an assessment or a pass is needed.

If none of the four applies, that is a reason to look harder at the free and official route above before pricing anything, not a reason to buy the cheapest row.

What to ask a provider

The prices above are list. These are the questions that change them, or change what they include — each has a definite answer a seller can put in writing:

  • Does that price cover one participant, or a whole class regardless of how many attend?
  • Is there a group or private rate, and at what headcount does it begin?
  • For a private cohort: what is the minimum and maximum, and is it exclusive to us?
  • Is the exam voucher included, and when does it expire?
  • Is a retake included if someone does not pass first time?
  • Is lab or practice-environment access included, for how long, and after the course too?
  • Do you assess prerequisites or current level before enrolment?
  • Can the content be adjusted to our environment, and at what cost?
  • What are the delivery dates, the time zone, the daily hours, and the minimum notice?
  • If delivered on site: where, and what do we need to provide?
  • What accessibility accommodations are available?
  • Can we substitute a different person, and what are the cancellation and rescheduling terms?
  • What completion reporting do we receive — which fields, in what format, and when?
  • How long do participants keep access to the material afterwards?

If defence or federal work is in scope

The Department of Defense publishes a matrix of credentials that count as approved foundational qualification options for its cyber work roles. CISSP appears in it for these DCWF work-role codes, each at Advanced proficiency (matrix V2.1, effective 2025-09-19, retrieved 2026-08-24): 421, 422, 611, 612, 722, 751, 752, 801, 802, 804, 805.

Three limits on what that means. A qualification option is one route among others, including education and training — holding the certification is not by itself a qualification. Each option applies at a named proficiency level for a named work role, not across the board. And DoD components may impose stricter requirements than the matrix.

It says nothing at all about demand, pay, or whether any employer outside the DoD cares. It matters when a contract or position description names a work role — in which case buy against that work role code and proficiency level rather than against the certification name.

How DoD 8140 qualification actually works

Turn this research into a team requirements brief

Start with the work outcome, learner count and readiness spread, delivery method, schedule and time zones, pace, budget, labs, vouchers, accessibility, reporting and approval constraints. Learnerside shows a provider-neutral team plan before asking for contact information; a named provider is disclosed in verified results, and your personal information is not shared without specific consent.

Get verified CISSP team-training options

Build an employer-ready CISSP proposal

Core source records

This table lists the page’s core content records and when they were checked. Claim-specific citations appear beside the relevant text and may not be repeated here.

Show all 8 sources
IDSupportsSourceChecked
CIT-01ONLC Training Centers (ISC)2 CISSP (on-demand) $1,795 per course, exam fee not included — 180-day 24/7 access begins at purchase; lectures, demonstrations, lab exercises, quizzes and study guide are stated. Exact current exam-outline alignment, lab platform, feedback, support limits, voucher status, tax and refund terms remain unverified (as of 2026-09-13)Published source (onlc.com)2026-09-13
CIT-02ONLC Training Centers (ISC)2 CISSP (instructor-led) $2,995 per course, exam fee not included — 5-day live course with practice test; exam voucher excluded. When checked September 13, ONLC listed Sep 21-25 (now completed), Oct 19-23, Nov 16-20 and Dec 14-18, 2026 plus Jan 18-22, 2027. These are historical calendar observations, not current seats or quotes. The page says Sixth Edition but its mapping appendix still names the April 2021 exam outline; require current April 2024 alignment. The completed September session had a listed late price of USD 3,245 from Sep 15 and a Sep 16 registration deadline; both dates have passed (as of 2026-09-13)Published source (onlc.com)2026-09-13
CIT-03New Horizons (ISC)2 CISSP $3,395 per course, not stated — 5-day public VILT course with official ISC2 materials, labs and 90-day recordings. Upcoming dates are listed without a calendar year except Jan 18-22, 2027; yearless dates are withheld from schedule matching. Exam voucher status is not stated; Private Group pricing requires a quote (as of 2026-09-13)Published source (newhorizons.com)2026-09-13
CIT-04Learning Tree International (ISC)2 CISSP (commercial) $4,295 per course, exam fee included — 5-day public course with official ISC2 materials, Pearson VUE exam voucher and after-course coaching. Upcoming dates and times are listed without a calendar year; they are withheld from schedule matching. Guaranteed-to-Run does not establish seat availability. Private-team pricing requires a quote (as of 2026-09-13)Published source (learningtree.com)2026-09-13
CIT-05Learning Tree International (ISC)2 CISSP (government) $3,842 per course, exam fee included — Restricted government public-course price with the same stated voucher and coaching. Confirm buyer eligibility, ordering route and terms; this is not a private-team quote (as of 2026-09-13)Published source (learningtree.com)2026-09-13
CIT-06CISSP exam fee $749 (as of 2026-07-05)ISC2 Exam Pricing2026-09-25
CIT-07CISSP published renewal cost over three years $405 (as of 2026-07-26)Published source (isc2.org)2026-09-25
CIT-08CISSP is a foundational qualification option at Advanced proficiency for DCWF work roles 421, 422, 611, 612, 722, 751, 752, 801, 802, 804, 805 (matrix V2.1, effective 2025-09-19, retrieved 2026-08-24)DoD Cyber Exchange — DoD 8140 Foundational Qualification Matrix V2.1 (effective 2025-09-19)2026-07-27